OSB News January 2013

OSB News - January 2013

A word from the Superintendent

It is a pleasure to provide an update on the work of the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy (OSB) through this latest edition of OSB News.

In addition to the information provided herein, I would like to highlight two initiatives we have undertaken this year, based on input from the trustee community.

Changes to 2013 Oral Boards of Examination

As you know, Oral Boards of Examination are convened annually across the country by the OSB as a final step in the process to obtain a trustee licence. In the context of the implementation of the new National Insolvency Exam by the Canadian Association of Insolvency and Restructuring Professionals, the OSB will be making a number of complementary changes to the oral board process this year to support consistency, transparency and rigour in the assessment of candidate competencies.

If you are involved in supporting a candidate in preparation for an Oral Board of Examination, I encourage you to review the Information on 2013 Oral Boards of Examination posted on the OSB's website.

New trustee professional conduct policy

The OSB has undertaken a review and an update of its policy and procedures for trustee professional conduct investigations and decision making, with a view to maximizing opportunities for early resolution, and facilitating transparency and consistency in the investigative and adjudicative processes. In support of these objectives, we have published an “Overview of Trustee Professional Conduct Proceedings,” which explains, in general terms, how the process works. We will also establish a directive on trustee professional conduct proceedings, which will set out the process in more detail, including the powers of the adjudicator and hearing procedures to be followed during proceedings. The draft documents have been posted for comment on the OSB's website from to .

In 2013, we look forward to continued collaboration with all members of the insolvency community on improvements to the insolvency system.

Bill James
Superintendent of Bankruptcy


Paperless recordkeeping moving ahead

The move toward a paperless insolvency system took another step forward in September when stakeholders were asked to provide their input on the Draft Trustee Electronic Recordkeeping (TERK) Directive. The draft directive sets out conditions, principles and minimum requirements for electronic recordkeeping by trustees.

The OSB's goal is to encourage and facilitate initiatives like TERK that enable a paperless insolvency system, while ensuring that such initiatives are consistent with the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act and other relevant statutes.

The TERK initiative started in 2008 with a pilot project conducted with the trustee firm Lemieux Nolet Inc. Information gathered during the pilot project provided the basis for research and analysis regarding the parameters of the draft directive.

Stakeholders were generally supportive of the draft and provided constructive comments that are now being reviewed. The new directive will be published in spring 2013.

Evaluation of mandatory counselling under way

The review of the mandatory counselling program for debtors continued this fall with two surveys. The first survey was conducted with a random sample of individuals who filed a bankruptcy or consumer proposal between March 2011 and February 2012. Respondents had the option of completing the survey by telephone or online. A second survey, involving trustees and qualified insolvency counsellors, was also conducted. We would like to thank participants for taking the time to respond to the surveys.

The goal of the surveys was to capture stakeholders' perceptions about the effectiveness of mandatory counselling to ensure it continues to respond to current needs. The surveys were administered by Industry Canada's Audit and Evaluation Branch (AEB) and the results will help inform the evaluation's conclusions.

A report on the evaluation and an action plan will be developed and made available on the Industry Canada and OSB websites in the summer 2013.

Time to switch to electronic submission of remittance forms

The pilot test of the new electronic process for submitting Remittance Advice forms has been completed. Trustees are encouraged to switch to electronic submission of remittance forms now. The OSB expects to complete its transition to a fully automated process for submitting remittance forms by January 2014.

The OSB is moving away from its former mail-in process in an effort to improve the accuracy and timeliness of information flowing between the OSB and trustees.

Electronic submission ensures that the data are sent directly from the trustee's practice management software to the OSB, thereby reducing the potential for data-entry errors while also lowering paper consumption and postage costs. It also enables trustees to consolidate more payments into a single remittance.

To enrol, please send an email to Colin.Frick@canada.ca.

IAIR conference 2012

The International Association of Insolvency Regulators (IAIR), an association of governmental insolvency regulators from around the world, provides members with a forum for discussing and sharing information and best practices.

The 2012 annual conference's theme, "Innovation in Insolvency Regulation," attracted presentations on a number of topics, including an evaluation of a new insolvency procedure in New Zealand, developments at Insolvency and Trustee Service Australia, and the planned reform of Scotland's bankruptcy legislation.

The conference also involved reporting on the results of studies undertaken. This year, Canada reported on the OSB-led study, Financial Education and Counselling in the Insolvency System, in which 16 countries participated. How is financial education or counselling provided in various countries? Is it provided by insolvency regulators or other governmental organizations? Is financial education required by law in the context of insolvency? These are some of the questions considered in the study, which will be released in a few months. The study will be posted on the IAIR's website.

IM/IT modernization at the OSB

From E-Filing and e-remittance to electronic recordkeeping, the OSB is constantly looking to use technology in new ways that serve trustees better and make its internal processes more effective and efficient. In that light, the OSB recently began a global review of its information management (IM) processes and information technology (IT) systems.

As with the majority of organizations today, the OSB delivers many of its services online. However, its systems need to keep up with evolving business and legislative requirements.

In addition to reviewing its systems, the OSB is also looking at how it manages the enormous amount of data it collects annually. The goal is to find better ways to use that data to improve service delivery, foster more informed decision making and improve timely access to reliable, relevant information.

In the coming months, we will be consulting with government colleagues and industry experts as we develop a vision and plan for our IM/IT modernization. We will also be seeking input from trustees who, as E-Filing users, are the creators of much of Canada's invaluable insolvency data. In the end, the more responsive and dynamic our systems, the better we will be able to support trustees and contribute to the efficient functioning of Canada's insolvency system.

Photo de Bill James, surintendant des faillites

Trustees provide ideas for finding creditors who don't claim dividends

Thanks to those trustees who provided feedback, the OSB is now analyzing potential solutions to reducing the number of unclaimed dividends. As part of the analysis, the OSB will reach out to stakeholders to determine which of the proposed solutions, including a possible amendment to the directive, would be most effective in maximizing the amount of dividends distributed to creditors. Trustees will be consulted in the coming months.

Trustees are still encouraged to make every effort to locate creditors before sending unclaimed dividends to the OSB, especially when the dividends belong to nationally known businesses that can be located more easily.

OSB website to get new look

The OSB website will soon feature an updated appearance and a navigational structure that reflect a trend toward more user-friendly design. The changes will be completed in late spring or early summer 2013.

The website will be revamped to meet the Government of Canada's new Standard on Web Accessibility and Standard on Web Usability. These changes will make the site's content accessible to a wider range of people with disabilities, while also making it easier for users in general to find information.

In addition to improving the efficiency of the search engine, the changes will contribute toward consistency across all governmental websites.

The Industry Canada website already features the new look. Click on the "All topics" tab to find the new Bankruptcy section on the site.

Recently published

Date modified:

Nouvelles du BSF janvier 2013

Nouvelles du BSF - Janvier 2013

Message du surintendant

J'ai le plaisir de vous présenter ce numéro de Nouvelles du BSF, qui fait le point sur le travail du Bureau du surintendant des faillites (BSF).

Outre l'information que vous y trouverez, j'aimerais mentionner deux initiatives que nous avons entreprises cette année à la suite de commentaires formulés par le milieu des syndics.

Changements apportés aux jurys d'examen oral de 2013

Comme vous le savez, l'examen oral devant jury constitue une dernière étape en vue de l'obtention de la licence de syndic et, chaque année, le BSF met en place des jurys d'examen oral à travers le pays. Dans le contexte de la mise en œuvre du nouvel Examen national sur l'insolvabilité administré par l'Association canadienne des professionnels de l'insolvabilité et de la réorganisation (ACPIR), le BSF apportera un certain nombre de changements complémentaires au processus d'examen oral devant jury de cette année afin d'appuyer l'uniformité, la transparence et la rigueur dans l'évaluation des compétences des candidats.

Si vous aidez un candidat à se préparer en vue de l'examen oral devant jury, je vous encourage à prendre connaissance de l'information concernant les examens oraux de 2013 affichée sur le site Web du BSF.

Nouvelle politique sur la conduite professionnelle des syndics

Le BSF a entrepris un examen et une mise à jour de sa politique et de ses procédures d'enquête et de prise de décision concernant la conduite professionnelle des syndics, dans le but d'optimiser les possibilités de résolution en amont et de favoriser la transparence et la cohérence des processus d'enquête et de prise de décision. À l'appui de ces objectifs, nous avons publié le document intitulé Conduite professionnelle des syndics : survol de la procédure où nous expliquons, en termes généraux, la façon dont se déroule la procédure. Nous comptons aussi publier une instruction qui donnera de plus amples détails sur la procédure, notamment en ce qui concerne les pouvoirs de l'arbitre et les procédures d'audition à suivre au cours du processus. Une version préliminaire des documents a été affichée sur le site Web du BSF le . Les commentaires peuvent être soumis jusqu'au .

En 2013, nous serons heureux de poursuivre notre collaboration avec tous les membres du milieu de l'insolvabilité afin d'améliorer le système d'insolvabilité.

Bill James
Surintendant des faillites


L'archivage électronique va de l'avant

En septembre dernier, une étape de plus a été franchie dans la transition vers un système d'insolvabilité sans papier lorsque le BSF a demandé aux intervenants de donner leurs commentaires sur une ébauche de l'instruction intitulée Archivage électronique par le syndic, qui définit les conditions, les principes et les exigences minimales applicables à l'archivage électronique des dossiers par les syndics.

L'objectif du BSF est d'encourager et de faciliter des initiatives comme celle visant l'archivage électronique des dossiers d'insolvabilité, qui permettent la mise en place d'un système d'insolvabilité sans papier, tout en veillant à ce que ces initiatives soient conformes à la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité et aux autres lois pertinentes.

L'initiative d'archivage électronique des dossiers d'insolvabilité a vu le jour en 2008 avec un projet pilote réalisé avec le bureau de syndics Lemieux Nolet Inc. L'information recueillie au cours de ce projet pilote a jeté les bases de la recherche et de l'analyse subséquentes concernant les paramètres de l'ébauche d'instruction.

Dans l'ensemble, les intervenants ont été favorables l'ébauche d'instruction et ont fourni des commentaires constructifs qui sont maintenant à l'étude. La nouvelle instruction sera publiée au printemps 2013.

L'évaluation de la consultation obligatoire est en cours

L'examen de la consultation obligatoire pour les débiteurs s'est poursuivi cet automne avec deux sondages. Le premier sondage a été réalisé auprès d'un échantillon aléatoire de personnes ayant déclaré faillite ou présenté une proposition de consommateur entre mars 2011 et février 2012. Les répondants avaient la possibilité de participer au sondage par téléphone ou en ligne. Un second sondage, s'adressant aux syndics et aux conseillers en insolvabilité qualifiés, a également été réalisé. Nous tenons à remercier les participants d'avoir pris le temps de participer aux sondages.

Les sondages avaient pour but de recueillir l'opinion des intervenants sur l'efficacité de la consultation obligatoire afin de s'assurer que celle-ci continue à répondre aux besoins actuels. Les sondages ont été administrés par la Direction générale de la vérification et de l'évaluation d'Industrie Canada et les résultats permettront d'éclairer les conclusions de l'évaluation.

Un rapport d'évaluation et un plan d'action seront élaborés et mis en ligne sur les sites Web d'Industrie Canada et du BSF au cours de l'été 2013.

Place à la transmission électronique des formulaires d'avis de paiement

L'essai pilote du nouveau processus électronique de transmission des formulaires d'avis de paiement a été complété. Nous encourageons donc les syndics à adopter dès maintenant les formulaires électroniques d'avis de paiement. Le BSF prévoit avoir terminé la transition vers un processus entièrement automatisé en janvier 2014.

Le BSF abandonne son ancien système de transmission des formulaires par la poste dans le but d'améliorer l'exactitude et la rapidité de l'échange de l'information entre le BSF et les syndics.

Grâce à la transmission électronique, les données sont envoyées directement du logiciel de gestion du bureau du syndic au BSF, ce qui réduit les risques d'erreur de saisie de données, de même que la consommation de papier et le coût d'affranchissement. Le nouveau système permet également aux syndics de regrouper davantage de paiements en un seul envoi.

Pour vous inscrire, veuillez faire parvenir un courriel à Colin.Frick@canada.ca.

Conférence 2012 de l'IAIR

L'International Association of Insolvency Regulators (IAIR), association qui regroupe les organismes publics de réglementation de l'insolvabilité de tous les coins du monde, fournit à ses membres une tribune pour discuter et partager de l'information ainsi que des pratiques exemplaires.

La conférence annuelle 2012 de l'IAIR, qui portait sur l'innovation dans la réglementation de l'insolvabilité, a attiré des orateurs qui ont fait des exposés sur plusieurs sujets. Ils ont présenté, entre autres, l'évaluation d'une nouvelle procédure d'insolvabilité adoptée en Nouvelle-Zélande, les nouveaux développements à l'Insolvency and Trustee Service en Australie et la réforme envisagée de la législation sur la faillite en Écosse.

La conférence a également permis de prendre connaissance des résultats d'études entreprises. Cette année, le Canada a fait rapport sur l'étude intitulée Financial Education and Counselling in the Insolvency System. Réalisée sous l'égide du BSF, cette étude, à laquelle 16 pays ont participé, examine différentes questions notamment : Comment l'éducation financière ou les conseils financiers sont-ils donnés dans divers pays? Ces services sont-ils pris en charge par les organismes de réglementation de l'insolvabilité ou par d'autres organisations gouvernementales? L'éducation financière est-elle exigée par la loi en cas d'insolvabilité? L'étude sera publiée dans les prochains mois et affichée sur le site Web de l'IAIR (anglais seulement).

Modernisation de la gestion de l'information et de la technologie de l'information (GI/TI) au BSF

Qu'il s'agisse du dépôt électronique, des paiements par voie électronique ou de l'archivage électronique, le BSF s'efforce constamment d'utiliser la technologie de façon novatrice afin de mieux servir les syndics et d'améliorer l'efficacité et l'efficience de ses procédures internes. Dans ce contexte, le BSF a entrepris récemment un examen de l'ensemble de ses processus de gestion de l'information et de ses systèmes de technologie de l'information (TI).

Comme la plupart des organisations, le BSF offre un grand nombre de services en ligne et ses systèmes doivent s'adapter à l'évolution constante des besoins opérationnels et des exigences législatives.

En plus d'examiner ses systèmes, le BSF se penche sur la gestion des énormes quantités de données qu'il recueille chaque année. Il veut ainsi trouver de meilleures façons d'exploiter ces données pour améliorer la prestation des services, éclairer la prise de décisions et améliorer l'accès en temps opportun à des renseignements fiables et pertinents.

Au cours des prochains mois, nous consulterons des collègues de la fonction publique et des experts de l'industrie alors que nous élaborerons une vision et un plan d'action pour la modernisation de la GI/TI. Nous demanderons également l'avis de syndics qui, en tant qu'utilisateurs du système de dépôt électronique, sont à l'origine d'une grande partie des précieuses données sur l'insolvabilité au Canada. En bout de ligne, plus nos systèmes seront adaptables et dynamiques, mieux nous serons en mesure d'appuyer les syndics et de contribuer au fonctionnement efficace du système canadien d'insolvabilité.

Photo de Bill James, surintendant des faillites

Les syndics nous livrent leurs idées pour retrouver les créanciers qui ne réclament pas leurs dividendes

Grâce aux syndics qui ont fourni des suggestions, le BSF analyse maintenant les solutions qui s'offrent à lui pour réduire le nombre de dividendes non réclamés. Dans le cadre de son analyse, le BSF s'adressera aux intervenants pour déterminer laquelle des solutions proposées, y compris une éventuelle modification de l'instruction, serait la plus efficace pour maximiser le montant des dividendes distribués aux créanciers. Le BSF consultera les syndics au cours des prochains mois.

Les syndics sont toujours encouragés à faire tous les efforts possibles pour retrouver les créanciers avant d'envoyer les dividendes non réclamés au BSF, en particulier lorsque les fonds appartiennent à des entreprises connues à l'échelle nationale qui ne peuvent être repérées plus facilement.

Le site Web du BSF se refait une beauté

Le site Web du BSF sera bientôt remanié et sa présentation actualisée. Il sera doté d'une structure de navigation plus conviviale, comme le veut la tendance actuelle. Les changements seront achevés à la fin du printemps ou au début de l'été 2013.

Le site Web est remanié afin de répondre à deux nouvelles normes du gouvernement du Canada, soit la Norme sur l'accessibilité des sites Web et la Norme sur la facilité d'emploi des sites Web. Grâce aux changements apportés, le contenu du site sera accessible à un plus grand nombre de personnes handicapées et l'information sera plus facile à trouver pour les utilisateurs en général.

En plus d'améliorer l'efficacité du moteur de recherche, les changements permettront d'uniformiser dans une certaine mesure l'ensemble des sites Web gouvernementaux.

Le site Web d'Industrie Canada arbore déjà ses nouvelles couleurs. Cliquez sur l'onglet « Tous les sujets » pour voir la nouvelle section du site Web ministériel sur les faillites.

Récemment publié

Date de modification :