How the Oral Board of Examination Works

Invitation and Application

Candidates who have successfully completed the Canadian Association of Insolvency and Restructuring Professionals (CAIRP) Chartered Insolvency and Restructuring Professional Qualification Program (CQP) and passed the Competency-Based National Insolvency Examination (CNIE) must apply to appear before the Oral Board of Examination by electronically filing the application for Trustee Licence through the OSB Licence Administration Application (OLAA). Once the completed application and fee are received and approved, candidates will receive an invitation from the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy to appear before the Oral Board of Examination. The deadline for applications to be received by the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy for the 2018 oral boards is January 21, 2018.

Upon receipt of candidates’ applications, the OSB will validate candidates’ eligibility for a licence and schedule their appearance before the oral board. Candidates will be given approximately seven business days advance notice of the date of their appearance before the board and will generally be scheduled to appear in the city of their residence or in a nearby city where an oral board will be convened. Most oral boards are held at OSB division offices.

Exam Day

On the appointed date, it is recommended that candidates arrive at the designated location at least 15 minutes in advance. Candidates' personal effects will be safeguarded and they will be escorted to a room where they will be provided with two long-answer questions and four short-answer questions, pens and paper. Candidates will have a period of 30 minutes to review the questions and prepare answers in advance of appearing before the oral board.

The board will be composed of three members: a representative from the OSB, a Licensed Insolvency Trustee (LIT) and an insolvency lawyer. The LIT and lawyer are selected based upon input from CAIRP and provincial insolvency associations. Additional individuals may attend as observers, but they will not participate in the assessment process in any way.

The Oral Board of Examination will be recorded unless candidates submit an exemption request two weeks in advance. Please refer to the OSB's recording policy.

For a period of one hour, the board will listen to candidates' answers to the questions they were provided with for review. Board members may also pose additional follow-up questions. Candidates are responsible for monitoring the amount of time they allocate to each answer.

Board members will take personal notes to assist them with the assessment process.

Candidates must keep all information provided during the oral board confidential to safeguard the integrity and fairness of the process. All notes taken by candidates during the oral board will be left with the board for destruction and will not be considered in the assessment process.

Results

The board will assess candidates' performance and will provide its recommendations, along with its supporting rationale, to the Superintendent of Bankruptcy. Candidates will subsequently receive a letter from the Superintendent before the end of May notifying them of the results of their oral board.

Pursuant to Directive No. 33, Trustee Designation and Advertising, prior to using the professional designation “Licensed Insolvency Trustee”, all trustees are required to sign the Consent Agreement. Successful candidates will therefore be asked to complete the same agreement before their licence is issued.

Date modified:

Déroulement de l’examen oral devant jury

Invitation et demande

Les candidats qui ont réussi le Programme de qualification des CIRP/PAIR (PQC) de l’Association canadienne des professionnels de l’insolvabilité et de la réorganisation (ACPIR) et l’Examen national en insolvabilité axé sur les compétences, doivent présenter une demande d’inscription à l’examen oral devant jury en remplissant en ligne le Demande de licence de syndic dans l'Application pour l’administration des licences du BSF (AALB). Sur réception de la demande dûment remplie et des frais d’inscription, le Bureau du surintendant des faillites (BSF) vérifiera si le candidat est admissible et, le cas échéant, lui fera parvenir une invitation à se présenter devant le jury d’examen oral. La date limite de réception des demandes de licence de syndic par le Bureau du surintendant des faillites (BSF) pour 2018 est le 21 janvier 2018.

Sur réception de la demande, le BSF vérifiera si le candidat est admissible à l’obtention d’une licence et fixe la date à laquelle ce dernier se présentera devant le jury d’examen. Environ sept jours ouvrables avant la tenue de l’examen oral devant jury, le candidat recevra un avis indiquant la date, l’heure et le lieu de l’examen, qui se tiendra en général dans sa ville de résidence ou dans une ville située à proximité. La plupart des examens oraux ont lieu dans les bureaux de division du BSF.

Le jour de l’examen

À la date prévue, nous vous recommandons de vous présenter à l’endroit indiqué au moins 15 minutes à l’avance. Vos effets personnels seront gardés dans un endroit sécuritaire, et vous serez accompagné jusqu’à une salle, où vous seront remis un questionnaire renfermant deux questions à réponse longue et quatre questions à réponse courte ainsi que des stylos et du papier. Vous disposerez de 30 minutes de préparation avant d’être accompagné jusqu’à la salle où se tiendra l’examen oral.

Le jury sera formé de trois personnes, soit un représentant du BSF, un syndic autorisé en insolvabilité (SAI) et un avocat spécialiste de l’insolvabilité. Le SAI et l’avocat seront sélectionnés compte tenu des commentaires de l’ACPIR et des associations provinciales de l’insolvabilité. Des personnes pourront s’ajouter à titre d’observateurs, mais elles ne participeront d’aucune manière au processus d’évaluation.

L’examen oral devant jury sera enregistré, sauf si vous présentez une demande d’exemption au moins deux semaines à l’avance. Veuillez vous reporter à la politique sur l’enregistrement des examens oraux par le BSF.

Pendant une heure, le jury écoutera vos réponses aux questions qui vous auront été fournies et pourra vous poser des questions de suivi supplémentaires. Vous déciderez vous-même du temps que vous consacrerez à chaque réponse.

Les membres du jury prendront leurs propres notes pour faciliter le processus d’évaluation.

Vous devrez garder confidentiels tous les renseignements qui vous seront fournis pendant l’examen oral afin de protéger l’intégrité et le caractère équitable du processus. Toutes les notes prises par les candidats au cours de l’examen oral devront être remises au jury pour destruction et ne seront pas prises en compte dans le processus d’évaluation.

Résultats

Le jury évaluera votre performance et formulera sa recommandation, dûment étayée, au surintendant des faillites. Ce dernier vous informera par écrit des résultats de votre examen avant la fin mai.

En vertu de l’instruction no 33, Désignation de syndic et publicité par les syndics, avant d’utiliser la désignation professionnelle « syndic autorisé en insolvabilité », tous les syndics sont tenus de signer un accord de consentement. Les candidats reçus devront donc remplir le même accord avant que leur licence soit émise.

Date de modification :