Preparation for the Oral Board of Examination

The primary emphasis of the Oral Board of Evaluation is the extent to which competencies are demonstrated by candidates' answers to the board's questions rather than the extent to which knowledge is demonstrated. However, candidates are expected to demonstrate accurate knowledge and apply relevant legislation correctly.

As competencies relate to behaviour and how knowledge and skills are used, the oral board's questions normally relate to issues such as what people do, how they achieve a desired result, what they consider to be important and why, and their thought processes and rationale in reaching a conclusion.

In a professional context, a typical assessment of knowledge and skills is quite different from an assessment of competencies. Knowledge and skills are job specific, whereas competencies are generic in that they apply across many occupations. Competencies determine how people use knowledge and skills to enhance their performance in the workplace.

When assessing competencies, questions might be posed to explore:

  • What factors need to be considered?
  • What considerations are relevant to the question?
  • What are the pros, cons and consequences of various options?
  • What information needs to be gathered and what, if any, assumptions need to be made to provide a complete response?
  • What conclusion/advice would ultimately be reached?
  • How would you behave/react in a given situation/scenario?

Candidates should expect to be questioned on a broad range of topics during the oral examination. The following list contains possible topic areas, but is not to be considered exhaustive:

  • Commercial bankruptcies, commercial proposals, commercial arrangements, Companies' Creditors Arrangement Act, Wage Earner Protection Program Act
  • Personal bankruptcies, consumer proposals, mediation, assessment, counselling
  • Receiverships, interim receivers
  • Meetings of creditors, meetings of inspectors
  • Discharge of Licensed Insolvency Trustee (LIT), discharge of bankrupt
  • Duties and powers of the LIT
  • General administration of estates
  • Preferences, transfers under value
  • Realization of assets, distribution, classes of creditors
  • Leases, landlord and tenant

Sample Questions and Answers

During the oral board, both long- and short-answer questions will be asked. The following are sample short-answer questions. They are provided for illustrative purposes only.

Example 1

James McElroy is operating a struggling consulting business as a proprietorship. After several judgments and writs of execution are filed against him, he transfers one of his cars to his wife and takes a sizeable advance on his line of credit to pay an uncle. He knows his uncle will continue to support him. The uncle is not listed on the Statement of Affairs.

James files for bankruptcy and these facts become known at the first meeting of creditors, although exact dates and times of these transactions are unknown at this time.

The inspectors want to take immediate action on this estate and there is money to begin this process.

  1. What additional questions might you ask and why?
  2. What potential actions would the LIT discuss with the inspectors?

Example 2

You recently joined a firm with two LITs and the following situation has occurred during your first month of association with the LITs' firm:

One of your estate administrators, Ron, explains that GST refunds, in excess of the cost of administration of the estate, including LITs’ fees and disbursements, are being used to fund bankrupts’ conditional discharge orders. He tells you that the bankrupts sign a document at the time they are swearing to the content of the Statement of Affairs, which permits the LIT to apply funds that have been received from GST refund cheques against an unfulfilled conditional order of the bankrupt, if there is one.

How would you respond to this situation?

Listen to an example of what is considered to be a proficient answer to this question:Footnote *

This is considered to be a proficient answer because:

  1. The answer identifies the legal issue, namely that Rule 59 states that GST credits are not property of the estate if a dividend is available to creditors without taking the payment into account. GST credits can only be retained by the LIT to cover the LIT’s fees where no other funds are available. This demonstrates judgment and professional skills.
  2. The answer identifies the ethical issue. The candidate recognizes an improper practice by his employers of requiring all debtors to sign a document agreeing to allow the LIT to use GST credits for a purpose other than that stated in Rule 59. This demonstrates ethics.
  3. The answer proposes a solution and takes ownership of the issue. It demonstrates effective judgment and strategic thinking in the solution to talk to his employers about how to address the situation going forward. It proposes a concrete solution after exploring the considerations, namely to allow debtors to have access to the GST and allow them to decide if they wish to apply those funds to any outstanding conditions of discharge. This demonstrates strategic thinking.
  4. The answer coherently describes the relevant considerations that lead to a clear conclusion. This demonstrates ability to communicate orally.

Preparation Suggestions

Although individual approaches to preparing for the oral board will vary, candidates may wish to consider the following suggestions:

  1. Prepare draft questions and answers. Questions should be prepared covering a broad range of insolvency situations. Candidates may wish to consider how they would be able to demonstrate the competencies being measured as they develop possible answers. To achieve this goal, candidates are encouraged to communicate the relevant thoughts and considerations that help them formulate a position. While many aspects of our work may have become intuitive, it is important for the oral board process that candidates verbalize their thought process and state any assumptions they feel need to be made in answering a question.
  2. Participate in one or more mock oral boards to obtain feedback from experienced insolvency professionals or fellow candidates. Prior to participating in a mock oral board, candidates should be sure to provide insolvency professionals with information about any changes to the oral boards so that the insolvency professionals can offer the most useful mock experience and appropriate feedback.
  3. Gain experience in a broad range of files and practice areas. This will assist candidates in being able to respond to the various insolvency scenarios presented during the oral board.
Date modified:

Préparation à l’examen oral devant jury

L'examen oral devant jury vise principalement à déterminer dans quelle mesure les candidats montrent dans leurs réponses qu'ils possèdent les compétences requises plutôt qu'à vérifier l'étendue de leurs connaissances. Les candidats doivent toutefois démontrer qu'ils connaissent bien les lois pertinentes et qu'ils sont en mesure de les appliquer correctement.

Puisque les compétences se rapportent à des comportements et à la manière dont les connaissances et les aptitudes sont utilisées dans le cadre de l'exécution, les questions se rapporteraient normalement à ce que font les gens; à la manière dont ils s'y prennent pour atteindre un résultat souhaité; à ce qu'ils considèrent comme étant important et pourquoi; et à ce que sont leurs processus de réflexion et leur raisonnement pour arriver à une conclusion.

Dans un environnement professionnel, l'évaluation type des connaissances et des aptitudes est très différente de l'évaluation des compétences. Les connaissances et les aptitudes sont propres à un emploi, tandis que les compétences sont génériques en ce qu'elles s'appliquent à de nombreuses professions. Les compétences déterminent la manière dont les gens utilisent leurs connaissances et leurs aptitudes pour accroître leur performance au travail.

Dans le cadre de l'évaluation des compétences, on pourrait poser des questions visant à déterminer:

  • les facteurs qui doivent être pris en compte;
  • les considérations qui sont pertinentes relativement à la question;
  • les avantages, les inconvénients et les conséquences des diverses options;
  • les renseignements qui doivent être recueillis et les hypothèses, le cas échéant, qui doivent être posées pour fournir une réponse complète;
  • la conclusion ou le conseil auquel on arriverait en bout de ligne;
  • la manière dont il faudrait se comporter ou réagir dans une situation ou un scénario donné.

Les candidats devraient s'attendre à ce qu'un vaste éventail de domaines et de sujets soient abordés au cours de l'examen oral. La liste qui suit fait état de domaines qui pourraient être abordés, mais elle ne doit pas être considérée comme exhaustive :

  • faillites commerciales, propositions commerciales et arrangements commerciaux, Loi sur les arrangements avec les créanciers des compagnies, Loi sur le Programme de protection des salariés;
  • faillites personnelles, propositions de consommateur, médiation, évaluation, services de consultation;
  • mises sous séquestre, séquestres intérimaires;
  • assemblées de créanciers, assemblées d'inspecteurs;
  • libération du syndic autorisé en insolvabilité, libération du failli;
  • fonctions et attributions du SAI;
  • administration générale des actifs;
  • traitements préférentiels, opérations sous-évaluées;
  • réalisation des actifs, distribution, catégories de créanciers;
  • baux, locateur et locataire.

Exemples de questions et de réponses

Au cours de l’examen oral devant jury, des questions à réponse longue et des questions à réponse courte seront posées aux candidats. On trouvera ci-après des questions à réponse courte, fournies à titre d’exemple uniquement.

Exemple 1

James Mc Elroy exploite une entreprise d'expert conseil en difficulté en tant qu'entreprise individuelle. Après le dépôt contre lui de plusieurs jugements et brefs d'exécution, il cède à son épouse l'une de ses automobiles et prend une avance assez considérable sur sa marge de crédit pour payer un oncle. Il sait que son oncle continuera de le soutenir. Le nom de l'oncle ne figure pas dans le bilan statutaire.

James déclare faillite, et ces faits sont mis en lumière lors de la première assemblée des créanciers, bien que le moment exact des transactions en question demeure encore inconnu.

Les inspecteurs veulent prendre des mesures immédiates à l'égard de cet actif, et il y a suffisamment de fonds pour entreprendre ce processus.

  1. Quelles autres questions pourriez-vous poser et pourquoi?
  2. Quelles sont les mesures possibles dont le SAI pourrait discuter avec les inspecteurs?

Exemple 2

Vous avez récemment joint les rangs d’un bureau où travaillent deux autres SAI. La situation suivante s’est produite au cours de votre premier mois au sein de ce bureau.

Jean, l’un de vos administrateurs de dossier, vous explique que le bureau utilise les montants excédentaires des chèques de remboursement de la TPS, une fois les frais d’administration du dossier (y compris les honoraires et débours du SAI) acquittés, pour répondre aux exigences de libération conditionnelle des faillis. Il vous indique qu’au moment où ils signent leur bilan, les faillis signent un document qui autorise le SAI à utiliser les fonds provenant des chèques de remboursement de TPS pour exécuter toute condition d’une ordonnance conditionnelle non encore remplie, le cas échéant.

Comment réagissez-vous?

Écoutez l’exemple de ce que nous considérons comme une réponse appropriée à cette questionFootnote *.

La réponse fournie est jugée appropriée pour les raisons suivantes :

  1. La réponse souligne la question d’ordre juridique, notamment le fait qu’en vertu de la Règle 59 des Règles générales sur la faillite et l’insolvabilité, le paiement au titre d’un crédit de TPS n’est pas compris dans les biens du failli si un dividende est payable aux créanciers sans qu’il faille prendre en compte ce paiement. Le SAI peut uniquement utiliser les crédits de TPS pour payer ses honoraires et débours s’il n’y a pas d’autres fonds disponibles. Le candidat fait preuve de son jugement et de ses compétences professionnelles dans sa réponse.
  2. La réponse soulève la question d’ordre éthique. Le candidat reconnaît que son employeur n’agit pas dans les règles en demandant à tous les débiteurs de signer un document dans lequel ils autorisent le SAI à utiliser les crédits de TPS à des fins autres que celles prévues par la Règle 59. Le candidat fait preuve de son sens de l’éthique dans sa réponse.
  3. La réponse propose une solution et règle la question. La solution mise de l’avant par le candidat, c’est-à-dire discuter avec ses employeurs de la façon d’aborder la situation dorénavant, fait preuve d’un jugement efficace et d’une réflexion stratégique. Le candidat propose une solution concrète après avoir tenu compte de différentes options, entre autres permettre au débiteur d’avoir accès aux crédits de TPS et de décider s’il souhaite utiliser ces fonds pour répondre à une condition de libération qui n’a pas été remplie. Le candidat fait preuve de réflexion stratégique dans sa réponse.
  4. La réponse décrit de façon cohérente les éléments pertinents ayant mené à une conclusion claire. Le candidat fait preuve de sa capacité de communiquer oralement dans sa réponse.

Suggestions aux fins de la préparation

Bien que chacun puisse avoir sa manière de se préparer à l'examen oral devant jury, vous pourriez peut être souhaiter prendre en considération les suggestions suivantes.

  1. Rédigez des ébauches de questions et de réponses. Vous devriez rédiger des questions qui couvrent un vaste éventail de situations d'insolvabilité. Rédigez des réponses en ayant en tête les compétences. Pour atteindre cet objectif, vous devriez communiquer les idées et les éléments pertinents qui vous aident à formuler une position. Bien que de nombreux aspects de notre travail puissent être aujourd'hui intuitifs, il est important, aux fins du processus d'examen oral devant jury, d'exprimer votre processus de réflexion et d'exposer toute hypothèse qui, à votre avis, doit être formulée pour répondre à une question.
  2. Participez à un examen oral devant jury simulé. Demandez l'aide de professionnels de l'insolvabilité chevronnés ou, au besoin, d'autres candidats, pour vous aider à tenir un examen oral devant jury simulé. Avant de vous présenter à un examen oral devant jury simulé, veillez à fournir au professionnel de l'insolvabilité les renseignements concernant les changements apportés aux examens oraux devant jury pour qu'il puisse vous aider de la meilleure manière possible.
  3. Veillez à acquérir de l'expérience dans un vaste éventail de dossiers et domaines de pratique. L'expérience dans un vaste éventail de dossiers et de domaines de pratique vous aidera à réagir aux divers scénarios d'insolvabilité qui vous seront soumis au cours de l'examen oral devant jury.
Date de modification :