Henry Sztern and Henry Sztern & Associés Inc.  — February 26, 2008

Professional Conduct Decision

What is a professional conduct decision?

An investigation into a Licensed Insolvency Trustees (LIT)'s professional conduct is initiated when there is information to suggest that the LIT has not properly performed the duties of a trustee or there has been improper administration of an estate or lack of compliance with the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act (BIA).

In some cases, the findings are sufficiently serious to support a recommendation for sanctions against the LIT's licence (cancel or suspend a LIT's licence (subsection 13.2(5) of the BIA) or impose conditions or limitations (subsection 14.01(1) of the BIA)).

The professional conduct decision is deemed to be a decision of a federal board, commission or tribunal and may be judicially reviewed by the federal court.

By Messenger

Mr. Garry Wetzel
Department of Justice
Industry Canada
Legal Services
235 Queen Street, 1st Floor, East Tower
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0H5

Mr. Henry Sztern
Henry Sztern & Associés Inc.
7431 Kingsley Road, Apt. 704
Côte-St-Luc, Quebec H4W 1P1

Henry Sztern & Associés Inc.
c/o Mr. Emilio Monaco
Monaco Avocats
6020 Jean-Talon Street
Suite 720
Montréal, Quebec H1S 3B1

Re: Proceedings pursuant to subsection 14.02(1) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act on the professional conduct of Henry Sztern, holder of an individual trustee licence for the Province of Quebec, and Henry Sztern & Associés Inc., holder of a corporate trustee licence for the Province of Quebec


Decision

In his motion dated , Mr. Henry Sztern, in his capacity as trustee, is seeking to strike the allegations contained in items A.1, B.2 and B.3 of the report filed by Senior Analyst Sylvie Laperrière pursuant to section 14.02(1) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act (the Act). This report by Senior Analyst Laperrière is dated .

Mr. Henry Sztern put forward the following in support of his motion:

That the Written Claim filed by Petitioners contains certain allegations that (i) disclose no reasonable cause of action, (ii) are vexatious, (iii) are immaterial and redundant, (iv) will prejudice and delay the fair trial of the action and (v) abuse the process of the Court:

This motion to strike allegations was a result of the following proceedings:

On , Senior Analyst Sylvie Laperrière submitted her report pursuant to section 14.02(1) of the Act. Her report included fifteen (15) allegations of offences under the Act and the Bankruptcy and Insolvency General Rules (the Rules).

Attached to this report were forty-three (43) series of documents (attachments) in support of each allegation.

On , Mr. Henry Sztern, in his capacity as trustee, presented before the undersigned a motion for particulars pertaining to the allegations contained in paragraphs A.1, B.2 and B.3 of the report by the abovementioned Senior Analyst.

On , as agreed upon at the pre-hearing conference held on , counsel for Senior Analyst Sylvie Laperrière produced for the record a letter constituting an initial response to the motion for particulars.

Mr. Henry Sztern responded to that letter the same day.

On , in a letter from her counsel, to which were appended a great many documents, Senior Analyst Laperrière produced her response to the motion for particulars made by Mr. Henry Sztern.

In the pre-hearing conference of , Mr. Henry Sztern informed the undersigned that with regard to the allegations in paragraphs G.9, J.15, K.17, L.18, M.19 and N.20, other legal proceedings were underway before the Civil Division of the Superior Court.

On , counsel for Senior Analyst Sylvie Laperrière produced for the record a letter, with documents attached, referring to the details of other proceedings that had been instituted with regard to items G.9, J.15, K.17, L.18, M.19 and N.20 of the report by Senior Analyst Sylvie Laperrière.

On , counsel for Senior Analyst Sylvie Laperrière produced a letter, also addressed to Mr. Henry Sztern and Henry Sztern & Associés Inc., and Mr. Emilio Monaco, counsel for Henry Sztern & Associés Inc. Attached to this letter was the report by Sonia Michaud, handwriting and document specialist for the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, in addition to her curriculum vitae and the documents that had been submitted to her for analysis.

By letter dated , addressed to the undersigned, to Mr. Henry Sztern and Henry Sztern & Associés Inc., and to Mr. Emilio Monaco, counsel for Senior Analyst Sylvie Laperrière produced an amended report from the Senior Analyst, including amendments to the original attachments to the report, i.e., attachments 11 and 12.

The motion to strike allegations was heard on .

Analysis

The parties agree that the proceedings before the undersigned are "of a regulatory prosecution" or disciplinary nature.

The report by Senior Analyst Sylvie Laperrière refers to section 14.01(2) of the Act. This section stipulates that "The Superintendent may delegate by written instrument, on such terms and conditions as are therein specified, any or all of the Superintendent's powers, duties and functions under subsection (1), subsection 13.2(5)(6)or(7) or section 14.02 or 14.03".

It is within section 14.01 and the powers described therein that is found the "regulatory prosecution" or disciplinary nature of the proceeding before the undersigned. It suffices to cite section 14.01 (1).

14.01 (1) Where, after making or causing to be made an investigation into the conduct of a trustee, it appears to the Superintendent that

  1. a trustee has not properly performed the duties of a trustee or has been guilty of any improper management of an estate,
  2. a trustee has not fully complied with this Act, the General Rules, directives of the Superintendent or any law with regard to the proper administration of any estate, or
  3. it is in the public interest to do so,

the Superintendent may do one or more of the following:

  1. cancel or suspend the licence of the trustee;
  2. place such conditions or limitations on the licence as the Superintendent considers appropriate including a requirement that the trustee successfully take an exam or enrol in a proficiency course;
  3. require the trustee to make restitution to the estate of such amount of money as the estate has been deprived of as a result of the trustee's conduct.

With regard to the disciplinary nature of these proceedings, the parties agree that these proceedings should be considered to be quasi-penal and subject to the duty to disclose.

Moreover, with regard to the issue of the duty to disclose, the Federal Court of Appeal in the matter of Todd Y. Sheriff, holder of a trustee licence, and Segal & Partners Inc. v. the Attorney General of CanadaFootnote 1 established the principles of this duty:

[33] The scope of disclosure in professional hearings continues to be expanded by provincial courts, which have applied the Stinchcombe principles in cases where the administrative body might terminate or restrict the right to practice or seriously impact on a professional reputation (see Hammami v. College of Physicians and Surgeons of British Columbia, [1977] 9 W.W.R. 301 (B.C.S.C.), at paragraph 75; Milner v. Registered Nurses Assn. of British Columbia (1999), 71 B.C.L.R. (3d) 372 (S.C.)). In Stinchcombe, the Supreme Court of Canada held that there is a general duty on Crown prosecutors to disclose all evidence that may assist the accused, even if the prosecution did not plan to adduce it. While these principles originally only applied in the criminal law context, the similarities between a criminal prosecution and a disciplinary hearing are such that the objectives are, in my analysis, the same, i.e. the search for truth and finding the correct result.

[34] In this case, the Trustees face a suspension of their licence and injury to their professional reputation. In order to fully understand the case against them and to ensure a fair disciplinary proceeding, the Trustees must have access to all relevant material which may assist them. This is consistent with the Superintendent's earlier ruling in this case that the SDA had a duty to disclose all documents unless they were "clearly irrelevant".

(ii) Statutory Disclosure Requirements

[35] I am further comforted that the Stinchcombe principles do apply in the present appeal, when one considers the obligation of the Superintendent pursuant to subsections 14.01(1), 14.02(1) and (2), as well as the procedures established by the Superintendent in a document entitled "Disciplinary Process under sections 14.01 and 14.02 of the Act" (hereinafter the Superintendent's Directive).

[…]

[38]  Section 8 of the Superintendent's Directive further requires the Superintendent to provide a reasonable opportunity to a trustee to prepare for a public hearing following written notice to the trustee of an investigation as to his conduct that may justify a "disciplinary sanction". (See Appendix 1, appeal book, page 1578.)

[39] Some of the factors that are relevant in determining the level of procedural fairness in a given case were set out by the Supreme Court of Canada in Baker v. Canada (Minister of Citizenship and Immigration), [1999] 2 S.C.R. 817.

[40] First, as to the nature of the decision being made, the Court in Baker commented that the closer an administrative process is to a judicial process, the more procedural fairness is likely to be required. While the procedures before the Superintendent are informal (depending on the circumstances and a consideration of fairness), the Trustees do face the possible cancellation or suspension of their licences; consequences that affect both their income and professional reputation. Accordingly, the importance of the decision to the Trustee does, as per Baker, suggest that a higher level of procedural fairness is required (see Kane, at paragraph 31).

[41] The remaining contextual factors identified in Baker did not impact on the duty of fairness in the present appeal. Based on the facts before me, the other considerations from Baker, which include the nature of the statutory scheme, legitimate expectations and the choice of procedure, do not militate towards a higher or lower level of procedural fairness accorded to the Trustees.

[42] In sum, the procedural requirements for disciplinary proceeding pursuant to sections 14.01 and 14.02 which give rise to sanctions, as well as the Superintendent's Directive, collectively give rise to clear duty to afford the Trustees fulsome disclosure, similar to the Stinchcombe principles. Accordingly, I am respectfully of the view that the applications Judge erred in law when he restricted disclosure to the first report and the information upon which it was based.

The question raised by the motion to dismiss filed by Mr. Henry Sztern, which is akin to a "motion to quash" or a nonsuit, is to determine whether, at this stage of the proceeding, Senior Analyst Sylvie Laperrière performed this duty to disclose the evidence that she intends to file in support of her report.

This disclosure should be such that the respondents, Mr. Henry Sztern and Henry Sztern & Associés Inc., have sufficient information to be able to prepare a full and complete defence, or admit to the allegations, at a fair and impartial hearing.

On this subject, in the matter of R. v. Cote, (1977), 33 C.C.C. (2d) 353, 40 C.R.N.S. 308 (S.C.C):

the golden rule is for the accused to be reasonably informed of the transaction alleged against him, thus giving him the possibility of a full defence and a fair trial. When, as in the present case, the information recites all the facts and relates them to a definite offence identified by the relevant section of the Code, it is impossible for the accused to be misled. To hold otherwise would be to revert to the extreme technicality of the old procedure.

As well, in the matter of R. v. WIS Developments Corporation Ltd., (1984), 12 C.C.C. (3d) 129 (S.C.C.), at page 137, Justice Lamer of the Supreme Court of Canada wrote the following:

When accused, the citizen shall be treated fairly. This requires that he must be clearly able to identify what he is alleged to have done wrong so that he may prepare his case adequately, and that at the outset of his trial or thereafter once the trial is over and at some other court, he must be able to argue that he has already been acquitted or convicted of the offence or that he comes within the protective principles set out in Kienappel v. The Queen, [1975] 1 S.C.R. 729.

We must not confuse sufficient information with the probative weight to be given these facts and/or the elements required to uphold the allegations in the report of the Senior Analyst. This confusion appears evident on reading the motion to strike allegations.

In the case at bar, whereas the information contained in the report, including reference to sections of the Act; whereas identification of the alleged offences; whereas the information contained in the forty-three (43) attachments to said report; whereas the information contained in the particulars provided by the various documents produced, it appears to us that Senior Analyst Sylvie Laperrière has fulfilled her duty to disclose or inform, and that the applicant is reasonably informed of the allegations against him.

Accordingly, the motion to strike allegations is dismissed.

Translation

space to insert signature

André Deslongchamps
ASE/sl


Authorities submitted

  • Sam Levy and Associates Inc. v. Canada (Superintendent of Bankruptcy, [2005] F.C.J. No. 882
  • R. v. Côté, [1978] 1 S.C.R. 8
  • Regina v. Ryan; Regina v. Charbonneau, 23 C.C.C. (3d) 1
  • R. v. Wigglesworth, [1987] 2 S.C.R. 541
  • R. v. Municipal Ready Mix Ltd., [1999] N.S.J No. 281
  • Krieger v. Law Society of Alberta, [2002] 3 S.C.R. 372
  • Toronto (City) v. Canadian Union of Public Employees (C. U.P.E), Local 79, [2003] 3 S.C.R. 77
  • R. v. 3 for 1 Pizza & Wings Inc., [2006] O.J. No. 1623
  • Toronto (City) v. Canada Land Corp., [2006] O.J. No. 4489
  • Vojic v. Canada (M.N.R)(F.C.A.), [1987] F.C.J No. 811
  • Sagon v. Royal Bank of Canada (Sask. C.A.), [1992] S.J. No. 197
  • Olmstead v. Canada (Attorney General), [1998] F.C.J. No. 1461
  • Pfizer Canada Inc. v. Apotex Inc., [1999] F.C.J. No. 959
  • Nelson v. Canada (minister of Customs and Revenue Agency), [2001] F.C.J. No. 1548
  • Daniels v. Canada (Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development), [2002] F.C.J. No. 391
  • Harris v. Canada (Attorney General), [2004] F.C.J. No. 1304
  • Getz v. Opseth, [2005] S.J. No. 103
  • Sanofi-Aventis Canada Inc. v. Novopharm Ltd., [2007] F.C.J. No. 548
  • Polgrain Estate v. Toronto East General Hospital, [2007] F.C.J No. 1479
  • Lehoux v. Canada, 2004 FC 401 Distrimedic Inc. c. Dispill Inc., 2006 FC 832
  • Tench v. Canada 2000 CanLII 15743 (F.C.)
  • Sokolowska v. Canada, 2005 FCA 29
  • Holland v. Saskatchewan (Minister of Agriculture, Food and Rural Revitalization), 2006 SkQB 99
  • Kelly Lake Cree Nation v. Canada (T D), [1998) 2 F.C. 270, 1997
  • International Paints (Canada) Ltd. v. Spirit of Columbus (la Plate-Forme), 1999
  • Canadian Oplympic Association v. Usa Hockey, Inc., 1997 5256 (F.C.)
  • Sheriff v. Canada (Attorney General), 2006 FCA 139
  • Canada (Attorney General) v. Sheriff, 2005 FCA 1726
  • Article 221(1) of the Rules of the Federal Court
  • Article 183 and 192 of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act of Canada
Date modified:

Henry Sztern et Henry Sztern & Associés Inc. — 26 février 2008

Décision sur la conduite professionnelle

Qu'est-ce qu'une décision sur la conduite professionnelle?

Le BSF ouvre une enquête sur la conduite professionnelle d'un syndic autorisé en insolvabilité (SAI) lorsqu'il dispose d'information laissant croire que le SAI n'a pas rempli adéquatement ses fonctions, n'a pas administré un dossier comme il se doit ou n'a pas respecté la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité (LFI).

Dans certains cas, les conclusions de l'enquête sont suffisamment graves pour donner lieu à une recommandation de sanction visant la licence d'un SAI [annulation ou suspension de la licence en vertu du paragraphe 13.2(5)] ou imposition de conditions ou de restrictions en vertu du paragraphe 14.01(1) de la LFI.

La décision sur la conduite professionnelle est assimilée à celle d'un office fédéral et peut faire l'objet d'un examen judiciaire par la Cour fédérale.

Le

par messager

Me Garry Wetzel
Département de la justice
Industrie Canada
Services juridiques
235 rue Queen, 1er étage, Tour est
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0H5

M. Henry Sztern
Henry Sztern & Associés Inc.
7431 Chemin Kingsley, App. 704
Côte-St-Luc (Québec) H4W 1P1

Henry Sztern & Associés Inc.
a/s Mr. Emilio Monaco
Monaco Avocats
6020, rue Jean-Talon
Bureau 720
Montréal (Québec) H1S 3B1

Objet: Procédures en vertu de la sous-section 14.02(1) de la Loi de faillite et d'insolvabilité sur la conduite professionnelle de Henry Sztern, titulaire d'une licence de syndic individuelle pour la province du Québec et de Henry Sztern & Associés inc., société titulaire d'une licence de syndic pour la province du Québec


Décision

Par sa requête du , M. Henry Sztern, en sa qualité de syndic, recherche le rejet des allégations contenues aux items A.1, B.2 et B.3 de la Déclaration de l'analyste sénior Sylvie Laperrière faite en vertu de l'article 14.02(1) de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité (la « Loi »). Cette déclaration de l'analyste sénior Laperrière est datée du .

Au soutien de sa demande, M. Henry Sztern invoque ce qui suit :

« Traduction »
Que la demande écrite produite par les requérants contient certaines allégations qui (i) ne révèlent aucune cause d'action valable; (ii) sont vexatoires; (iii) sont sans pertinence et redondantes; (iv) risquent de nuire à l'instruction équitable de l'action et de la retarder; (v) constituent un abus de procédure :

Cette requête pour rejet d'allégations fait suite aux procédures qui suivent :

Le , l'analyste sénior Sylvie Laperrière formulait sa déclaration en vertu de l'article 14.02(1) de la Loi qui comporte quinze (15) allégations d'offenses à la Loi et aux règles générales sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité (les « Règles »).

À cette déclaration sont annexées quarante-trois (43) séries de documents (attachments) au support de chacune des allégations.

Le , M. Henry Sztern, en sa qualité de syndic, formulait devant le soussigné une requête pour précisions concernant les allégués contenus aux paragraphes A.1, B.2 et B.3 de la Déclaration de l'analyste sénior ci-devant mentionnée.

Le , tel que convenu lors de la conférence préparatoire tenue le , le procureur de l'analyste sénior Sylvie Laperrière produisait au dossier une lettre constituant une réponse initiale à la demande de particularités.

M. Henry Sztern répondait le même jour à cette lettre.

Le , par lettre de son procureur, à laquelle était annexé un grand nombre de documents, l'analyste sénior Laperrière produisait sa réponse à la demande de particularités formulée par M. Henry Sztern.

Au cours de la conférence préparatoire du , M. Henry Sztern a informé le soussigné que, concernant les allégations des paragraphes G.9, J.15, K.17, L.18, M.19 et N.20, d'autres procédures judiciaires étaient en cours devant la division civile de la Cour supérieure.

Le , le procureur de l'analyste sénior Sylvie Laperrière produisait au dossier une lettre, avec documents annexés, référant aux détails des autres procédures intentées eu égard aux items G.9, J.15, K.17, L.18, M.19 et N.20 de la Déclaration de l'analyste sénior Sylvie Laperrière.

Le , le procureur de l'analyste sénior Sylvie Laperrière produisait une lettre également adressée à M. Henry Sztern et à Henry Sztern & Associés inc., à Me Emilio Monaco, procureur de Henry Sztern & Associés inc., lettre à laquelle était annexé le rapport de Sonia Michaud, spécialiste en écritures et documents, à la Gendarmerie Royale du Canada, en plus de son curriculum vitae et des documents qui lui avaient été soumis aux fins d'analyse.

Par lettre du , adressée au soussigné, à M. Henry Sztern et Henry Sztern & Associés inc., à Me Emilio Monaco, le procureur de l'analyste sénior Sylvie Laperrière, produisait une déclaration amendée de ladite analyste sénior, y compris des amendements aux annexes originales de la Déclaration, soit les annexes 11 et 12 (attachments 11 and 12).

La requête pour rejet d'allégations a été entendue le .

Analyse

Les parties conviennent que les procédures devant le soussigné sont de nature « of a regulatory prosecution » ou disciplinaire.

La déclaration de l'analyste sénior Sylvie Laperrière réfère à l'article 14.01(2) de la Loi. Cet article édicte que " le Surintendant peut, par écrit et aux conditions qu'il précise dans cet écrit, déléguer tout ou partie des attributions que lui confèrent respectivement les paragraphes (1), les paragraphes 13.2(5)(6)(7) et les articles 14.02 et 14.03 ».

C'est à l'intérieur de l'article 14.01 et des pouvoirs qui y sont décrits que l'on retrouve le caractère de « regulatory prosecution » ou le caractère disciplinaire de la procédure devant le soussigné. Qu'il suffise de citer à cet effet l'article 14.01 (1)

14.01(1) Après avoir tenu ou fait tenir une enquête sur la conduite du syndic, le surintendant peut prendre l'une ou plusieurs mesures énumérées ci-après, soit lorsque le syndic ne remplit pas adéquatement ses fonctions ou a été reconnu coupable de mauvaise administration de l'actif, soit lorsqu'il n'a pas observé la présente loi, les Règles générales, les instructions du surintendant ou toute autre règle de droit relative à la bonne administration de l'actif, soit lorsqu'il est dans l'intérêt public de le faire :

  1. annuler ou suspendre la licence du syndic;
  2. soumettre sa licence aux conditions ou restrictions qu'il estime indiquées, et notamment l'obligation de se soumettre à des examens et de les réussir ou de suivre des cours de formation;
  3. ordonner au syndic de rembourser à l'actif toute somme qui y a été soustraite en raison de sa conduite.

Les parties référant au caractère disciplinaire de la présente procédure conviennent que cette procédure doit être considérée comme étant de nature quasi pénale et qu'elle est sujette à l'obligation de « disclosure » ou d'information.

D'ailleurs, sur cette question de l'obligation de « disclosure », la Cour fédérale d'appel, dans la cause Todd Y. Sheriff, personne physique titulaire d'une licence de syndic et Segal & Partners Inc. c. Le procureur général du CanadaNote de bas de page 1 a établi les principes de cette obligation :

« Traduction »
[33] Les tribunaux judiciaires provinciaux continuent d'étendre les obligations de communication dans les auditions disciplinaires des professions, appliquant les principes de Stinchcombe aux affaires où l'organisme administratif pourrait retirer ou restreindre le droit d'exercice de la profession ou porter gravement atteinte à la réputation professionnelle; voir Hammami c. College of Physicians and Surgeons of British Columbia (1977), 47 Admin. L.R. (2d) 30 (C.S.C.-B.), au paragraphe 75; et Milner c. Registered Nurses Association (British Columbia) (1997), 71 B.C.L.R. (3d) 372 (C.S.). Dans l'arrêt Stinchcombe, la Cour suprême du Canada a statué que le ministère public est soumis à l'obligation générale de communiquer à l'accusé tous les éléments de preuve qui pourraient l'aider dans sa défense, même ceux que l'accusation ne prévoit pas de produire. Si ces principes ne s'appliquaient à l'origine qu'au contexte du droit pénal, les analogies entre les poursuites au pénal et les auditions disciplinaires s'avèrent telles que les objectifs sont, selon mon analyse, les mêmes, soit la recherche de la vérité et l'obtention du résultat juste.

[34] Dans la présente espèce, les syndics risquent la suspension de leur licence et une atteinte à leur réputation professionnelle. Afin qu'ils puissent bien comprendre les faits qui leur sont opposés et que leur soit garantie une procédure disciplinaire équitable, ils doivent avoir accès à tous les éléments pertinents susceptibles de les aider. Cette conclusion est conforme à la décision qu'a déjà rendue le surintendant, selon laquelle l'analyste principale était tenue de communiquer tous les documents à moins qu'ils n'aient « visiblement rien à voir avec l'affaire »

(ii) Les obligations de communication d'origine législative

[35] Je suis conforté dans ma conviction que les principes de Stinchcombe s'appliquent effectivement au présent appel par la prise en considération des obligations que prévoient pour le surintendant les paragraphes 14.01(1), 14.02(1) et 14.02(2), ainsi que des procédures établies par ce dernier dans un document intitulé Processus disciplinaire prévu aux articles 14.01 et 14.02 de la Loi (la Directive du surintendant).

[…]

[38] La section 8 du même document exige en outre du surintendant qu'il offre au syndic une possibilité suffisante de se préparer à une audition publique après avoir reçu avis de l'ouverture, sur sa conduite, d'une enquête susceptible de donner lieu à une « sanction disciplinaire ». (Voir le dossier d'appel, appendice 1, page 1578.)

[39] La Cour suprême du Canada a énuméré certains des facteurs à prendre en considération pour établir le niveau d'équité procédurale qu'exige une affaire donnée dans Baker c. Canada (Ministre de la Citoyenneté et de l'Immigration), [1999] 2 R.C.S. 817.

[40] Premièrement, pour ce qui concerne la nature de la décision à rendre, la Cour suprême postule dans Baker que plus la procédure administrative se rapproche de la procédure judiciaire, plus l'exigence d'équité procédurale sera en principe rigoureuse. S'il est vrai que les affaires soumises au surintendant doivent être réglées sans formalisme (eu égard aux circonstances et à l'équité), le syndic en cause n'en risque pas moins l'annulation ou la suspension de sa licence – conséquences qui influent aussi bien sur son revenu que sur sa réputation professionnelle. Il s'ensuit que l'importance de la décision pour le syndic donne à penser, si l'on en juge d'après Baker, qu'un niveau plus élevé d'équité procédurale s'impose dans ce cas (voir Kane, précité, au paragraphe 31).

[41] Les autres facteurs contextuels relevés dans Baker n'influent pas sur l'obligation d'équité à établir dans le présent appel. Vu les faits qui m'ont été présentés, les autres facteurs énumérés dans Baker — la nature du régime applicable, les attentes légitimes et le choix de la procédure — ne militent ni dans un sens ni dans l'autre pour ce qui est du niveau d'équité procédurale à garantir au syndic.

[42] Tout bien considéré, des prescriptions applicables aux procédures disciplinaires susceptibles de donner lieu à des sanctions sous le régime des articles 14.01 et 14.02, ainsi que de la Directive du surintendant, découle l'obligation manifeste de communication pleine et entière au syndic, analogue à celle que définissent les principes de l'arrêt Stinchcombe. En conséquence, le juge des demandes, à mon humble avis, a commis une erreur de droit en limitant l'obligation de communication au premier rapport et aux renseignements sur la base desquels il a été établi.

La question posée par la requête en rejet d'allégations formulée par M. Henry Sztern, qui est de la nature d'une « motion to quash » ou d'un non lieu, est de déterminer si, à ce stade de la procédure, l'analyste sénior Sylvie Laperrière s'est déchargée de cette obligation de divulgation de la preuve qu'elle entend soumettre au soutien de sa déclaration.

Cette divulgation doit faire en sorte que les défendeurs, M. Henry Sztern et Henry Sztern & Associés inc., possèdent des détails suffisants pour pouvoir préparer une défense pleine et entière ou encore reconnaître les faits allégués, et ce, lors d'une audition équitable et juste.

À ce sujet, dans la cause R. v. Cote, (1977), 33 C.C.C. (2d) 353, 40 C.R.N.S. 308 (S.C.C) :

« Traduction »
la règle par excellence est que l'accusé doit être raisonnablement informé de l'infraction qu'on lui impute, pour lui donner ainsi la possibilité d'une défense complète et d'un procès équitable. Lorsque, comme en l'espèce, la dénonciation énumère tous les faits et les relie à une infraction déterminée, identifiée par l'article pertinent du Code, il est impossible que l'accusé soit induit en erreur. Admettre le contraire serait retourner au formalisme extrême de l'ancienne procédure.

Également dans la cause R. v. WIS Developments Corporation Ltd., (1984), 12 C.C.C. (3d) 129 (S.C.C.), à la page 137, le juge Lamer de la Cour Suprême du Canada écrit ce qui suit :

« Traduction »
Dès qu'il est inculpé, le citoyen doit alors être traité équitablement. Cela implique nécessairement qu'il doit être en mesure d'identifier clairement le méfait qu'on lui impute afin qu'il puisse préparer une défense adéquate et que, dès le début de son procès ou, ultérieurement, lorsque l'affaire aura été portée devant une autre cour, il puisse faire valoir qu'il a déjà été acquitté ou déclaré coupable relativement à cette infraction ou qu'il jouit de la protection des principes énoncés dans l'arrêt Kienapple c. La Reine, [1975] 1 R.C.S. 729.

Il ne faut pas confondre suffisance des informations avec la force probante de la preuve à être faite de ces faits et/ou des éléments nécessaires au maintien des allégations de la déclaration de l'analyste sénior. Cette confusion semble, à la lecture de la requête pour rejet d'allégations, évidente.

Dans la présente affaire, considérant les informations contenues à la déclaration, y compris la référence aux articles de la Loi, considérant l'identification des gestes reprochés, considérant les informations contenues aux quarante-trois (43) annexes à ladite déclaration, considérant les informations contenues aux détails fournis par les divers documents produits, il nous apparaît que l'analyste sénior Sylvie Laperrière s'est déchargée de son obligation de divulguer ou d'informer et que le requêtant est raisonnablement informé de ce qui lui est reproché.

En conséquence, la requête pour rejet d'allégations est rejetée.

Original signé par

Champ de saisie de la signature

André Deslongchamps
ASE/sl


Autorités soumises

  • Sam Lévy and Associates Inc. v. Canada (Superintendent of Bankruptcy, [2005] F.C.J. No. 882
  • R. v. Côté, [1978] 1 S.C.R. 8
  • Regina v. Ryan; Regina v. Charbonneau, 23 C.C.C. (3d) 1
  • R. v. Wigglesworth, [1987] 2 S.C.R. 541
  • R. v. Municipal Ready Mix Ltd., [1999] N.S.J No. 281
  • Krieger v. Law Society of Alberta, [2002] 3 S.C.R. 372
  • Toronto (City) v. Canadian Union of Public Employees (C.U.P.E), Local 79, [2003] 3 S.C.R. 77
  • R. v. 3 for 1 Pizza & Wings Inc., [2006] O.J. No. 1623
  • Toronto (City) v. Canada Land Corp., [2006] O.J. No. 4489
  • Vojic v. Canada (M.N.R)(F.C.A.), [1987] F.C.J No. 811
  • Sagon v. Royal Bank of Canada (Sask. C.A.), [1992] S.J. No. 197
  • Olmstead v. Canada (Attorney General), [1998] F.C.J. No. 1461
  • Pfizer Canada Inc. v. Apotex Inc., [1999] F.C.J. No. 959
  • Nelson v. Canada (Minister of Customs and Revenue Agency), [2001] F.C.J. No. 1548
  • Daniels v. Canada (Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development), [2002] F.C.J. No. 391
  • Harris v. Canada (Attorney General), [2004] F.C.J. No. 1304
  • Getz v. Opseth, [2005] S.J. No. 103
  • Sanofi-Aventis Canada Inc. v. Novopharm Ltd., [2007] F.C.J. No. 548
  • Polgrain Estate v. Toronto East General Hospital, [2007] F.C.J No. 1479
  • Lehoux v. Canada, 2004 FC 401Distrimedic Inc. c. Dispill Inc., 2006 FC 832
  • Tench v. Canada 2000 CanLII 15743 (F.C.)
  • Sokolowska v. Canada, 2005 FCA 29
  • Holland v. Saskatchewan (Minister of Agriculture, Food and Rural Revitalization), 2006 SkQB 99
  • Kelly Lake Cree Nation v. Canada (T D), [1998) 2 F.C. 270, 1997
  • International Paints (Canada) Ltd. v. Spirit of Columbus (la Plate-Forme), 1999
  • Canadian Oplympic Association v. Usa Hockey, Inc., 1997 5256 (F.C.)
  • Sheriff v. Canada (Attorney General), 2006 FCA 139
  • Canada (Attorney General) v. Sheriff, 2005 FCA 1726
  • Article 221(1) of the Rules of the Federal Court
  • Article 183 and 192 of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act of Canada

Le présent document a été reproduit dans sa version originale, telle que fournie par le délégué du surintendant des faillites.

Date de modification :