Oral Board of Examination—Transcript

I would advise Ron that the GST refunds are a partially exempt asset under Rule 59 of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency General Rules. I would advise that any GST refund received, in excess of the cost of estate administration, including the trustee’s tariff or trustee’s fees, must be returned to the bankrupt. I would also advise that having the bankrupt sign an assignment of the GST refund when they... they swear to the content of the Statement of Affairs is not in accordance with the Bankruptcy and Insolvency General Rules.

I would suggest to Ron that this practice should stop and that the proceeds from the GST refund cheques should be returned to the bankrupt in accordance with the Act. GST refunds are not available for the trustee to apply against conditional orders. It’s only in situations where, after we’ve realized on all the estate assets and determined that the cost of administration has been paid, should a request be made of the bankrupt to permit the remaining proceeds of GST ref... of the GST refund cheques to be used for any other purpose. So it is at this time that we should be advising the bankrupt of his right to keep any remaining funds from the GST refund cheques and seek his agreement to apply them to other outstanding obligations. If he does not agree at that time, the funds should be returned to the bankrupt.

Well, this could be considered an ethical issue because it’s taking an exempt asset away from the bankrupt, whereas the trustee should know and make it clear to bankrupts that the funds are theirs to deal with. The GST refunds can only be used to pay the cost of estate administration, including the trustee’s fees, after the proceeds from all other estate assets have been applied first. If there remains an amount available from the GST refunds that would otherwise be available as a dividend to the creditors, it is this portion of the GST refund that is an exempt asset and must be returned to the bankrupt. So trustees must balance their obligations to fully inform debtors of their rights and responsibilities with their obligations to maximize realizations to the estate for the benefit of creditors.

Well, I would advise Ron that I will set up a meeting, as soon as possible, with the trustee or trustees responsible for establishing the administrative practice of the office. I would ask him to assist me prior to this meeting in understanding when and why they started this practice. During this meeting, I would demonstrate the basis of non-compliance with the legislation and I would propose that we stop this practice immediately, and take a closer look at each open file to determine whether a refund to the bankrupt of such receipts is in order. I would emphasize the importance of having the bankrupts properly and fully informed of their rights and obligations in that process.

I would hope that the outcome of that meeting would result in a memo issued to the employees modifying the existing policy as well as an amendment to the assignment of the GST refunds form. Instructions to staff would be amended to include that debtors should be advised, during the assessment stage, of their rights to the GST refunds, subject only to that portion of the refunds required to pay the cost of administration, which would include our fees, and that any other amount received over that will be returned to them. See, we need to change this practice so it does not give rise to an ethical issue by having a known violation of the legislation persist.


Return to previous page

Date modified:

Examen oral devant jury – Transcription

Je répondrais à Jean que les remboursements de TPS sont des biens partiellement exemptés en vertu de la Règle 59 des Règles générales sur la faillite et l’insolvabilité. Je préciserais que ce qui restera du remboursement de TPS revient au failli, une fois que les frais d’administration du dossier seront payés ce qui inclut les honoraires du syndic. Je lui dirais que selon les Règles générales, il est interdit de demander au failli de signer une cession du remboursement de TPS au moment où il confirme sous serment le contenu du bilan.

J’indiquerais à Jean qu’il faut mettre fin à cette pratique et que l’argent qui reste des chèques de remboursement de TPS doit être remis au failli, comme le prévoit la Loi. Le syndic ne peut pas utiliser les remboursements de TPS pour exécuter des ordonnances conditionnelles. C’est uniquement lorsque tous les biens de l’actif ont été réalisés et que les frais d’administration ont été payés que l’on peut demander au failli d’autoriser que les sommes restantes soient utilisées à d’autres fins. À ce moment-là, il faut indiquer au failli qu’il a le droit de conserver tout l’argent qui reste du remboursement de TPS et lui demander s’il est d’accord pour qu’on s’en serve pour régler d’autres dettes. Et s’il refuse, l’argent doit lui être remis.

Il pourrait s’agir d’une question d’éthique puisque le syndic ne remet pas un bien exempté au failli. Le syndic devrait savoir que l’argent appartient au failli et préciser clairement à son client que l’argent lui appartient et qu’il peut l’utiliser comme bon lui semble. Les remboursements de TPS doivent servir uniquement à payer les frais d’administration d’un dossier, ce qui comprend le tarif et les honoraires du syndic, et seulement une fois que l’argent de la vente des actifs a été utilisé. S’il reste un montant disponible qui, dans d’autres circonstances, aurait été versé aux créanciers sous forme de dividende, c’est cette portion du remboursement qui constitue un bien exempté et doit être remise au failli. Le syndic doit trouver un juste milieu entre ses deux obligations : d’une part, il doit informer pleinement le débiteur de ses droits et responsabilités et, d’autre part, il doit vendre les biens pour en tirer le maximum à remettre aux créanciers.

J’expliquerais à Jean que j’organiserais sans tarder une réunion avec le ou les syndics responsables de l’établissement des pratiques administratives du bureau. J’aimerais qu’avant la réunion, il m’explique quand et pourquoi ils ont adopté cette façon de faire. Au cours de la réunion, j’expliquerais en quoi la législation n’est pas respectée. Je proposerais de mettre fin immédiatement à cette pratique et d’examiner attentivement chaque dossier ouvert pour déterminer s’il faudrait rembourser le failli. J’insisterais sur l’importance de bien informer le failli de ses droits et obligations dans ce processus.

J’aimerais qu’après la réunion, on transmette une note aux employés pour les informer que la politique et le formulaire de cession des remboursements de TPS ont été modifiés. Le bureau doit aussi donner d’autres instructions aux employés pour les informer qu’ils doivent dire aux débiteurs, au moment de l’évaluation, qu’ils ont le droit de conserver les remboursements de TPS. Par contre, il faut leur préciser que le syndic peut conserver les montants requis pour payer les frais d’administration y compris nos honoraires et que tout montant excédentaire leur sera remis. Le bureau de syndics n’a pas le choix et doit changer cette façon de faire; il ne peut pas continuer à enfreindre la législation. C’est une question d’éthique.


Retourner à la page précédente
Date de modification :