Status of the New Directive on Trustee Designation and Advertising: Directive No. 29R3

September 22, 2015

The Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy (OSB) has recently received enquiries regarding the new Directive on Trustee Designation and Advertising. This notice is to provide licensed trustees with an update on the status of the Directive and planned next steps.

Public consultations on the draft Directive, which closed at the end of June, yielded valuable input on the proposed designation itself, as well as the advertising provisions of the Directive. Over the summer, the OSB has undertaken further analysis of several key issues along with the drafting of substantive amendments to further align the Directive with the objectives identified in the consultation documents.

Trustees are advised that, at the present time, the existing Directive No. 29R2 (PDF, 10 pages, 484 KB), including the designation Trustee in Bankruptcy, remains in effect.

The new directive is planned to be released later this fall and the OSB will provide Trustees with notice in advance of the release date.  The Directive will include transitional provisions to facilitate the efficient adoption of a new professional designation, as well as information on how to comply with the requirements of the Directive.

Should you have any questions, please contact the OSB at mailto:ic.osbcommunications-communicationsbsf.ic@canada.ca.

Note: Similar information was communicated to the Canadian Association of Insolvency and Restructuring Professionals (CAIRP) in mid-August, in response to an inquiry related to preparations for the organization's annual meeting.

Date modified:

Statut de la nouvelle instruction sur la désignation de syndic et la publicité par les syndics : instruction no 29R3

Le 22 septembre 2015

Récemment, le Bureau du surintendant des faillites (BSF) a reçu des demandes de renseignements au sujet de la nouvelle instruction sur la désignation de syndic et la publicité par les syndics. Le présent avis a pour objet de communiquer les informations les plus récentes aux syndics autorisés sur le statut de l'instruction et les prochaines étapes prévues.

Les consultations publiques sur l'ébauche de l'instruction, qui se sont terminées fin juin, ont permis d'obtenir de précieux commentaires sur la désignation elle-même ainsi que sur les dispositions relatives à la publicité par les syndics. Au cours de l'été, le BSF a entrepris une analyse approfondie de plusieurs points clés et a élaboré une ébauche de modifications importantes à apporter afin d'harmoniser l'instruction avec les objectifs définis dans les documents de consultation.

Nous avisons les syndics que, à l'heure actuelle, l'instruction no 29R2 (PDF, 10 pages, 484 KB), y compris la désignation de syndic de faillite, reste en vigueur.

Il est prévu que la nouvelle instruction soit publiée cet automne, et le BSF informera les syndics à l'avance de la date de publication. L'instruction comprendra des dispositions transitoires visant à faciliter l'adoption de la nouvelle désignation professionnelle ainsi que des renseignements sur la manière de se conformer aux exigences de l'instruction.

Si vous avez des questions, veuillez communiquer avec le BSF à l'adresse mailto:ic.osbcommunications-communicationsbsf.ic@canada.ca.

Remarque : L'Association canadienne des professionnels de l'insolvabilité et de la réorganisation (ACPIR) a reçu un message similaire à la mi-août en réponse à une demande de renseignements formulée en prévision de son assemblée annuelle.

Date de modification :