Directions for lifting of Conservatory Measures (TD Canada Trust—Côte Vertu, St-Laurent)

Conservatory Measures

What is a conservatory measure?

The Superintendent of Bankruptcy puts in place conservatory measures when a bankruptcy or insolvency estate needs protection. It might be in cases of Licensed Insolvency Trustee (LIT) malfeasance or if serious wrongdoing on the part of a LIT puts estate files at risk. Conservatory measures may also be put in place if a LIT becomes ill or dies without a valid succession agreement. Finally, conservatory measures may be put in place if a LIT, for whatever reason, has allowed the administration of his or her practice to become substandard.

Canada

In the matter of: John Lukca and J. Lukca & Associés inc.


Directions for Lifting of Conservatory Measures
(Section 14.03 of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act)


Whereas the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act (the Act) provides the Superintendent of Bankruptcy with the general power to supervise the administration of all estates and matters to which the Act applies;

Whereas John Lukca is the holder of an individual trustee licence;

Whereas J. Lukca & Associés inc. is the holder of a corporate trustee licence;

Whereas an investigation conducted by the Superintendent of Bankruptcy pursuant to subsection 5(3)(e) of the Act revealed that the trustees' administration presented numerous deficiencies, including those listed below:

The percentage of files open for more than three years exceeded the established standard, thereby requiring that the trustees provide the Superintendent with a plan for closing their files as per the Initiative for the Orderly and Timely Administration of Insolvency Estates (IOTA);

The trustees did not respect the closing plans that they submitted on August 25, 2003 and June 30, 2005 or subsequent amendments to those plans;

On March 28, 2006, the trustees requested an extension to August 31, 2006 in order to complete their closing plan, but they did not provide an amended closing plan as requested by the Senior Bankruptcy Analyst in a letter dated April 27, 2006 and by the Assistant Superintendent, Trustee Compliance, in a letter dated June 8, 2006;

The trustees did not respond to the Official Receiver's requests for information on estate files;

The trustees committed numerous irregularities in the administration of their trust bank accounts and in several aspects of their estate administration;

The trustees did not prove that they had corrected the situation, despite requests to do so;

After being discharged, the trustees made payments to the Superintendent, in the form of levies. These payments were made out of bank accounts that were not listed in the April 30, 2006 banking report;

The trustees refuse or neglect to adequately render account for their administration;

Whereas the Superintendent of Bankruptcy may, in order to protect estates, exercise the powers set out in subsection 14.03(1) of the Act, under the circumstances anticipated in subsection 14.03(2) of the Act;

Whereas on July 4, 2006, Marie Tardif, a Delegate of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy, directed TD (Toronto-Dominion) Canada Trust, branch located at 3131 , De la Côte vertu Boulevard, St. Laurent, Quebec H4R 1Y8:

  1. to make no debit, payment or transfer on funds credited to the estate accounts administered by J. Lukca & Associés inc. and listed in Appendix A without the co-signature of Ms. Patricia Couture or Mr. Roger Rousselle or Mr. François Leblanc, in addition to that of Ms. Rochelle Pont Budd or Mr. John Lukca.
  2. not to pay out of these same accounts any bills of exchange, cheques, bank drafts, certificates of deposit, or other such instruments that may have been issued prior to receipt of these directions but are presented for payment after receipt of these directions, unless said cheques, bills of exchange or bank drafts have been co-signed by Ms. Patricia Couture or Mr. Roger Rousselle or Mr. François Leblanc in addition to Ms. Rochelle Pont Budd or Mr. John Lukca.
  3. to provide to Mr. Robert Massé by end of day on July 19, 2006, a list of all estate trust bank accounts with a balance as of July 5, 2006, that are under the name of or controlled or administered by J. Lucka & Associés inc., Trustee in Bankruptcy.

Whereas all deficiencies detected pertaining to the administration of the estates have been satisfactorily corrected; all irregularities with respect to the trust bank accounts have been satisfactorily corrected; all estates under the administration of John Lukca and J. Lukca & Associés inc. have been properly completed and discharges have been issued; all funds in the trust accounts have been distributed satisfactorily; all trust bank accounts have a nil bank balance; and there are no estates under the licenses of John Lukca or J. Lukca & Associés inc.;

Whereas the Superintendent has delegated to me, in accordance with subsection 14.01(2) of the Act, the powers of the Superintendent as specified at subsection 14.03(1) of the Act, in the circumstance referred to in subsection 14.03(2), a copy of which delegation is attached, along with copies of sections 14.01, 14.02 and 14.03 of the Act;

I, Samra Rabie, in my capacity as Delegate for the Superintendent, remove the conservatory measures issued to TD (Toronto-Dominion) Canada Trust, Côte vertu, St (Saint)-Laurent.

That these directions take effect immediately.

That, pursuant to subsection 14.03(4) of the Act, a person who complies with this direction is not liable for any act done by that person only to comply with this direction.

Signed at the City of Montreal, Quebec, this 18th day of July, 2016.


Samra Rabie
Regional Director—Eastern Region
Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy

This document has been reproduced as submitted by the delegate of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy.
Date modified:

Instructions de levée des mesures conservatoires (Banque TD Canada Trust — Côte-Vertu, St-Laurent)

Mesures conservatoires

Qu'est-ce qu'une mesure conservatoire?

Le surintendant des faillites impose des mesures conservatoires lorsqu'il estime qu'un dossier de faillite ou d'insolvabilité doit être protégé, par exemple lorsqu'un méfait ou des malversations de la part d'un syndic autorisé en insolvabilité (SAI) peuvent mettre l'actif en péril. Des mesures conservatoires peuvent également être imposées lorsqu'un SAI tombe malade ou meurt sans avoir conclu d'entente de succession valide ou encore si, pour une raison quelconque, le travail d'un bureau de SAI ne respecte plus les normes établies par le BSF.

Canada

Dans l'affaire de : John Lukca and J. Lukca & Associés inc.


Instructions de levée mesures conservatoires
(article 14.03 de la Loi sur la faillite et l'insolvabilité)


Considérant que la Loi sur la faillite et l’insolvabilité (la Loi) attribue au surintendant des faillites un pouvoir général de surveillance des actifs et des affaires régis par ladite Loi;

Considérant que John Lukca est titulaire d’une licence de syndic individuel;

Considérant que J. Lukca & Associés inc. est titulaire d’une licence de syndic corporatif;

Considérant qu’une enquête menée par le surintendant des faillites, en vertu de l’alinéa 5(3)e) de la Loi, a démontré que l’administration des syndics présentait plusieurs lacunes, dont celles énumérées ci-dessous :

Le pourcentage de dossiers ouverts depuis plus de trois ans dépassait la norme établie, exigeant ainsi des syndics de fournir au surintendant un plan de fermeture de leurs dossiers en vertu de l’Initiative pour l’administration ponctuelle et ordonnée des dossiers d’insolvabilité (IAPO);

Les syndics n’ont pas respecté les plans de fermeture qu’ils ont soumis les 25 août 2003 et 30 juin 2005 ainsi que les amendements subséquents;

Les syndics ont demandé, le 28 mars 2006, un délai jusqu’au 31 août 2006 pour compléter leur plan de fermeture, mais ils n’ont pas fourni de plan de fermeture amendé, tel que requis par l’analyste principal des faillites dans une lettre du 27 avril 2006, et par le surintendant adjoint, Conformité des syndics, dans une lettre du 8 juin 2006;

Les syndics n’ont pas répondu à des demandes d’information du séquestre officiel concernant des dossiers d’actif;

Les syndics ont commis de nombreuses irrégularités dans l’administration de leurs comptes bancaires en fiducie et dans plusieurs aspects de leur administration des dossiers;

Les syndics n’ont pas prouvé qu’ils avaient corrigé la situation malgré des demandes en ce sens;

Les syndics, après avoir été libérés, ont effectué des paiements au surintendant, à titre de prélèvement, ces paiements provenant de comptes bancaires qui n’apparaissent pas dans le rapport bancaire du 30 avril 2006;

Les syndics refusent ou négligent de rendre compte adéquatement de leur administration; 

Considérant que le surintendant peut et doit, pour assurer la sauvegarde d’un actif, exercer les pouvoirs visés au paragraphe 14.03(1) de la Loi, et ce, dans les circonstances prévues au paragraphe 14.03(2) de la Loi;

Considérant que le 4 juillet 2006, Marie Tardif, en sa qualité de déléguée du surintendant des faillites, a donné les instructions suivantes à la succursale de la Banque TD (Toronto-Dominion) Canada Trust située au 3131, boulevard de la Côte-Vertu, Saint-Laurent (Québec) H4R 1Y8 :

  1. de ne faire aucun débit et/ou paiement et/ou transfert sur les fonds déposés au crédit des comptes d’actifs et dans les comptes de la liste de l’annexe A jointe aux présentes, sous l’administration de J. Lukca & Associés inc., sans que les chèques, notes de débit, certificats de dépôt et/ou transferts soient contresignés par Mme Patricia Couture ou M. Roger Rousselle ou M. François Leblanc, en plus de Mme Rochelle Pont Budd ou M. John Lukca;
  2. de ne payer, à même lesdits comptes, aucun effet de commerce, chèque, traite bancaire, certificat de dépôt ou autres, émis antérieurement à la réception des présentes, mais qui seraient présentés pour paiement postérieurement à la réception des présentes sans que lesdits chèques, effets de commerce ou traites bancaires soient contresignés par l’une desdites personnes, en plus de Mme Rochelle Pont Budd ou M. John Lukca;
  3. de fournir, d’ici la fermeture des bureaux le 19 juillet 2006, la liste de tous les comptes bancaires d’actifs en fiducie avec le solde en date du 5 juillet 2006, au nom de J. Lucka & Associés inc., syndic de faillite, sous son contrôle ou administrés par ses soins, à M. Robert Massé;

Considérant que toutes les lacunes relevées dans le cadre de l’administration des dossiers ont été corrigées de façon satisfaisante; que toutes les irrégularités ayant trait aux comptes bancaires en fiducie ont été corrigées de façon satisfaisante; que tous les dossiers administrés par John Lukca et J. Lukca & Associés inc. ont été fermés de façon appropriée et que les libérations ont été émises; que tous les fonds dans les comptes en fiducie ont été distribués de façon satisfaisante; que tous les comptes bancaires en fiducie ont un solde de zéro; et qu’il n’y a plus de dossiers sous les numéros de licence de John Lukca ou de J. Lukca & Associés inc.;

Considérant que le surintendant m’a délégué, en vertu du paragraphe 14.01(2) de la Loi, les pouvoirs que lui confère le paragraphe 14.03(1) de la Loi, dans les circonstances décrites au paragraphe 14.03(2) de la Loi, et que copie de la délégation et des articles 14.01, 14.02 et 14.03 de la Loi est jointe aux présentes;

Je soussignée, Samra Rabie, en ma qualité de déléguée du surintendant des faillites, lève les instructions de mesures conservatoires à l’intention de la Banque TD (Toronto-Dominion) Canada Trust ‒ Côte-Vertu, Saint-Laurent.

Les présentes instructions entrent en vigueur immédiatement.

Selon les dispositions du paragraphe 14.03(4) de la Loi, quiconque obtempère aux présentes instructions échappe à toute responsabilité pour les actes posés dans le seul but de s’y conformer.

Signé en la ville de Montréal, dans la province de Québec, ce 18 juillet 2016.


Samra Rabie
Directrice régionale — Région de l'Est
Bureau du surintendant des faillites Canada

Le présent document a été reproduit dans sa version originale, telle que fournie par le délégué du surintendant des faillites.
Date de modification :