New consumer brochure: Consumed by Debt?

November 3, 2016

A new brochure for consumers has been published by the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy (OSB). The new brochure is called Consumed by debt? Considering a fresh start? Information for consumers on the insolvency process.

The brochure has content that encourages consumers who are experiencing financial distress to visit a Licenced Insolvency Trustee (LIT) using clear and simple language. Consumed by debt? outlines a consumer’s insolvency options when they are facing challenging financial times, and explains that LITs are the only qualified professionals authorized to administer insolvency proceedings. The brochure also assists debtors in distinguishing LITs from debt consultants.

You can order or download your copy of the brochure by visiting the OSB website. We hope that you will share this new brochure with your clients in-person, as well as via your website and social media.

LITs who have already placed an order for the OSB’s previous brochure, Dealing with Debt, will receive the new brochure in the coming weeks.

Feedback on Consumed by debt? is welcomed at OSB Communications.

Date modified:

Nouvelle brochure destinée aux consommateurs : Croulez-vous sous les dettes?

Le 3 novembre 2016

Le Bureau du surintendant des faillites (BSF) a publié une nouvelle brochure destinée aux consommateurs, intitulée Croulez-vous sous les dettes? Songez-vous à repartir à neuf? Information sur la procédure d’insolvabilité à l’intention des consommateurs.

Écrite dans un langage clair et simple, cette publication encourage les consommateurs aux prises avec des problèmes financiers à faire appel à un syndic autorisé en insolvabilité (SAI). On y décrit les options en matière d’insolvabilité dont disposent les consommateurs en cas de difficultés financières et on y explique que les SAI sont les seuls professionnels qualifiés autorisés à administrer des procédures d’insolvabilité. La brochure aide aussi les débiteurs à faire la différence entre un syndic autorisé en insolvabilité et un conseiller en gestion de dettes.

Vous pouvez commander ou télécharger votre exemplaire à partir du site Web du BSF. Nous vous encourageons à remettre la brochure à vos clients en personne ou à la diffuser sur votre site Web et dans les réseaux sociaux.

Les SAI qui ont déjà commandé l’ancienne brochure du BSF, intitulée Se sortir de l’endettement, recevront la nouvelle version au cours des prochaines semaines.

N’hésitez pas à envoyer vos commentaires au sujet de Croulez-vous sous les dettes? aux Communications du BSF.

Date de modification :