Reasonable and Fair Provisions in Consumer Proposals

December 5, 2016

Issue

Pursuant to s. 5(2) of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act (BIA), which requires that the Superintendent of Bankruptcy (Superintendent) supervise the administration of all estates and matters to which the BIA applies, the Superintendent is issuing a position statement regarding the inclusion of “discount clauses” by Licensed Insolvency Trustees (LIT) in consumer proposals.

Following review and analysis of consumer proposal filings, the Superintendent has observed that discount clauses can compromise the integrity of the administration of the insolvency process and can also lead to outcomes for debtors and creditors that are inconsistent with what would be considered reasonable and fair when the objectives and purpose of the BIA are considered.

Background

Through monitoring activities and complaint review related to the maintenance and enforcement of the insolvency regulatory framework, the Superintendent has identified instances where discount clauses are being included in some consumer proposals filed by LITs on behalf of debtors. The discount clauses are associated with instances where a debtor pays a debt consultant for advice, prior to being directed to an LIT for assistance. The LIT then includes a clause that allows the debtor to discharge their obligations to creditors for as little as 75% of the face value of their initial consumer proposal at a time the debtor can determine.

Under this framework, discount clauses are promoted to debtors by debt consultants in the context of “financial advice” to facilitate the issuance of new, high-interest loans once a proposal is accepted. During the term of the proposal, the debtor may also be charged with what is termed “credit repair fees,” which are represented as services to improve their credit rating. In this context, a debtor may take a new loan to fund the completion of the proposal at a discount. The apparent savings to the debtor from the reduced reimbursement to proposal creditors are in fact fully absorbed by the high interest and other charges that would flow to the third party that has issued the new loan. In practice, the debtor may see no reduction in their monthly payments and will usually see a net increase in their total payment (after fees, set-up costs, and interest charges) and may be committed to debt repayment for periods exceeding the five-year statutory maximum applicable to consumer proposals. Such debtors would incur lower out-of-pocket expenses if they instead maintained their non-discounted proposal, at full value.

The following is an example of this type of clause:

At any time during the term of this proposal, should the debtor be able to arrange funding and pay to the administrator an amount equal to the balance owing on the proposal less 25%, this consumer proposal shall be deemed to be complete and the proponent shall be entitled to a Certificate of Full Performance.

Lump sum payments that fulfill a consumer proposal early may not, in and of themselves, be problematic. This could, for example, include lump sum payments that arise from a debtor’s enhanced capacity to pay due to enhanced income and savings or receiving an unexpected windfall. Consumer proposal clauses that do not rely upon acquiring new debt are distinct and different from those that are premised upon the debtor acquiring new debt in order to pay off existing debt at the time of their insolvency.

Analysis

Implications for the Effective Administration of Division II Consumer Proposals

Section 66.12 of the BIA allows an individual insolvent debtor who owes up to $250,000, not including a mortgage on the debtor’s principal residence, to file a consumer proposal. The purpose of the consumer proposal provisions is to permit consumer proposals to be handled quickly, efficiently and with a minimum of administration and attendant expense. The process for filing and administering a consumer proposal is streamlined compared to that of a Division I proposal. For example, a first meeting of creditors is usually not held (BIA s. 66.15(1)), and the proposal is deemed to be accepted by the creditors at the expiry of 45 days following its filing (BIA s. 66.18(1)). Also, the LIT usually does not have to apply to court for approval of the proposal because it is deemed approved 15 days after it is deemed accepted by the creditors (BIA s. 66.22(2)).

Given the streamlined framework for consumer proposals and high volumes involved, their efficient and effective administration depends, in part, on their being developed in a straightforward and predictable manner, without the need for case-by-case analysis or consultation by stakeholders. Key creditors often rely upon third-party service providers to manage their involvement in the review and approval of consumer proposals using standardized decision-making frameworks. These frameworks may not be well-suited to supporting informed consideration of non-standard elements, such as discount clauses.

As there are mechanisms available to debtors wishing to pay off a consumer proposal early, discount clauses and other non-standard clauses introduce unnecessary complexity to the administration of consumer proposals.

Implications for Creditors

Monitoring carried out by the Superintendent indicates that the presence of discount clauses in consumer proposals is contributing to decreased aggregate returns for creditors, without corresponding benefits to consumers. In the context of streamlined approvals and creditors’ reliance on standardized decision-making, in order to efficiently review consumer proposals, it is not evident whether these clauses are consistently identified and considered by creditors, particularly when the LIT’s report to creditors does not specifically address the reasonableness and fairness of this element of the proposal.

As consumer proposals with discount clauses present an incentive for insolvent debtors to acquire new debt, generally at very high interest rates, this practice may increase future default risks for other secured and non-secured creditors who are not involved in the proposal. It is also uncertain whether consumer credit reporting agencies would receive information from firms issuing loans for discounted lump-sum payouts, which would accurately reflect consumer credit risk and the reliability of credit scores of consumers who take advantage of discount clauses.

Implications for Debtors

Rehabilitation of the debtor is a fundamental purpose of the BIA. The Supreme Court of Canada notes that “rehabilitation helps the discharged bankrupt to reintegrate into economic life so he or she can become a productive member of society.”Footnote 1 The BIA is designed to facilitate rehabilitation in numerous waysFootnote 2. For example, the BIA’s discharge of debt “gives the insolvent person a ‘fresh start,’ in that he or she is ‘freed from the burdens of pre-existing indebtedness.’"Footnote 3 Further, the BIA ensures that the consumer debtor receives financial advice throughout the process to facilitate rehabilitation, including advice on the adoption of prudent financial management strategies, such as use of consumer credit and the operation of his or her consumer proposal. As a result, consumer proposals provide debtors the opportunity to pay back a portion of their debt over as long as 60 months, at a pace which they can afford. In the process, it is intended that the debtor can satisfy their outstanding debt and establish sustainable financial practices.

The inclusion of a discount clause in a consumer proposal encourages the acquisition of new debt as means for the debtor to fulfill a consumer proposal’s requirements. Monitoring has shown that insolvent consumers are counselled to resolve their existing financial problems and attempt to improve their credit rating through new borrowing. Despite the decreased amount paid to creditors when a discount clause is exercised, the consumer will typically end up paying significantly more during the period of their loan than the original face value of their proposal to creditors, over periods which can greatly exceed 60 months. In such cases, a loan provider’s interest charges, fees and penalties represent an obstacle to the restoration of a debtor’s good financial health, particularly as compared to repayment at 0% interest under the terms of a consumer proposal.

Consistency with Licensed Insolvency Trustee Duties under the BIA

Under the BIA’s consumer proposal provisions, the LIT prepares and files a “Report of Administrator on Consumer Proposal” (BIA s. 66.14 and Form 48) providing the LIT’s opinion as to whether the consumer proposal is reasonable and fair to the consumer debtor and the creditors, and whether the consumer debtor will be able to complete it (BIA s. 66.14(a)(ii)).

Discount clauses designed to facilitate third-party loans for the purpose of discharging debt encourage a continuance of unsustainable financial practices. Insofar as the inclusion of a discount clause incites a debtor to enter into new and costly loans, proposals that include discount clauses cannot reasonably be considered fair to the consumer debtor or to the creditors.

Consistency with Licensed Insolvency Trustee Code of Ethics

Given the impacts of discount clauses included by LITs in consumer proposals, the Superintendent regards them as being incongruent with the high professional and ethical standards required of an LIT. The following sections of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency General Rules are of particular relevance:

Section 34: Every trustee shall maintain the high standard of ethics that are central to the maintenance of public trust and confidence in the administration of the Act.

Section 39: Trustees shall be honest and impartial and shall provide to interested parties full and accurate information as required by the Act with respect to the professional engagement of the trustees.

Section 44: Trustees who are acting with respect to any professional engagement shall avoid any influence, interest or relationship that impairs, or appears in the opinion of an informed person to impair, their professional judgement.

Section 49: Trustees shall not, directly or indirectly, pay to a third party a commission, compensation or other benefit in order to obtain a professional engagement or accept, directly or indirectly from a third party, a commission, compensation or other benefit for referring work relating to a professional engagement.

Section 50: Trustees shall not obtain, solicit or conduct any engagement that would discredit their profession or jeopardize the integrity of the bankruptcy and insolvency process.

Position

Based on monitoring and analysis, the Superintendent is of the view that the inclusion of discount clauses in consumer proposals represents a risk to the integrity of the administration of the insolvency process, and that discount clauses support outcomes for debtors and creditors that are inconsistent with what would be considered reasonable and fair when the objectives and purpose of the BIA are considered.

Accordingly, in instances where the Superintendent identifies a discount clause (or similar inappropriate provision) in a proposal made on behalf of a consumer, the official receiver will direct the LIT to call a meeting of creditors, to be chaired by the official receiver. The meeting of creditors will provide the LIT with an opportunity to expand on their due diligence with regard to the debtor’s insolvent circumstances, and to address how the proposal, with the discount clause, is fair, reasonable, and achievable. The meeting will ensure that creditors are aware of and have the necessary information to make an informed decision on whether to accept, reject or request changes to the consumer proposal. After a creditors meeting, in instances where the official receiver is not satisfied that the consumer proposal is fair or reasonable, the official receiver may take additional actions to protect the integrity of the insolvency process.

If you have any questions or comments, please address them to: ic.osbregulatoryaffairs-affairesreglementairesbsf.ic@canada.ca.

Date modified:

Clauses raisonnables et équitables dans les propositions de consommateur

Le 5 décembre 2016

Question

En vertu du par. 5(2) de la Loi sur la faillite et l’insolvabilité (LFI), aux termes duquel il contrôle l’administration des actifs et des affaires régis par la LFI, le surintendant des faillites (surintendant) publie un exposé de position concernant l’inclusion par les syndics autorisés en insolvabilité (SAI) de « clauses d’escompte » dans les propositions de consommateur.

Après avoir examiné et analysé des propositions de consommateur déposées, le surintendant a constaté que les clauses d’escompte sont susceptibles de compromettre l’intégrité de l’administration de la procédure d’insolvabilité et, en outre, de mener à des résultats qui, et pour les débiteurs et pour les créanciers, sont contraires à ce que l’on pourrait considérer comme étant juste et raisonnable compte tenu des objectifs et de l’objet de la LFI.

Contexte

Dans le cadre de ses activités de surveillance et d’examen des plaintes relativement au maintien et à l’application du cadre réglementaire sur l’insolvabilité, le surintendant a relevé des cas où des clauses d’escompte sont incluses dans certaines propositions de consommateur déposées par des SAI pour le compte de débiteurs. Ces clauses sont associées à des dossiers dans lesquels un débiteur obtient contre rémunération les conseils d’un conseiller en gestion de dettes, qui le renvoie à un SAI pour obtenir de l’aide. Le SAI inclut ensuite une clause qui permet au débiteur de s’acquitter de ses obligations envers les créanciers dans une proportion de 75 % seulement de la valeur nominale de sa proposition de consommateur initiale, à une date qu’il fixe lui-même.

Suivant cette démarche, les conseillers en gestion de dettes font la promotion des clauses d’escompte auprès des débiteurs dans le contexte de « conseils financiers » afin de faciliter l’octroi de nouveaux prêts à taux d’intérêt élevés une fois que la proposition est acceptée. Pendant la période d’application de la proposition, le débiteur peut également devoir payer ce que l’on appelle des « frais de rétablissement de la cote de crédit », qui sont présentés comme se rapportant à des services qui visent à améliorer sa cote de crédit. Dans ce contexte, le débiteur peut contracter un nouveau prêt pour financer l’exécution de la proposition à rabais. Les économies qu’il paraît réaliser en raison de la réduction du remboursement effectué en faveur des créanciers de la proposition sont, dans les faits, complètement éliminées étant donné les intérêts élevés et autres frais dus à la tierce partie qui a accordé le nouveau prêt. Dans la pratique, le débiteur pourrait ne constater aucune réduction de ses paiements mensuels et voir une hausse nette du paiement total (après les honoraires, les frais initiaux et les intérêts), et pourrait devoir rembourser sa dette pendant des périodes qui dépassent le maximum de cinq ans prévu par la loi pour les propositions de consommateur. Or, ce même débiteur serait tenu à des dépenses moins élevées s’il maintenait plutôt sa proposition initiale (sans escompte) à sa pleine valeur.

Voici un exemple de ce type de clause :

À n’importe quel moment pendant la période d’application de la présente proposition, si le débiteur est en mesure d’obtenir les fonds requis et de verser à l’administrateur une somme égale au solde dû sur la proposition moins 25 %, la présente proposition de consommateur est réputée complète, et le proposant a le droit d’obtenir un Certificat d’exécution intégrale.

Le paiement unique qui vise à satisfaire à une proposition de consommateur de manière anticipée n’est peut-être pas en lui-même problématique. Il pourrait s’agir ici notamment d’un paiement unique rendu possible en raison de la capacité accrue du débiteur d’effectuer celui-ci du fait d’un revenu ou d’économies accrus ou encore d’une rentrée d’argent inattendue. Les clauses de propositions de consommateur qui ne dépendent pas du fait pour un débiteur de contracter une nouvelle dette se distinguent des clauses aux termes desquelles le débiteur doit s’endetter davantage afin de s’acquitter d’une dette existante à la date de son insolvabilité.

Analyse

Implications en ce qui concerne l’administration efficace des propositions de consommateur en vertu de la section II

Aux termes de l’article 66.12 de la LFI, le débiteur insolvable individuel dont les dettes s’élèvent à 250 000 $ au plus ― exclusion faite d’une hypothèque grevant sa résidence principale ― peut déposer une proposition de consommateur. Les dispositions qui concernent la proposition de consommateur ont pour but d’en permettre le traitement rapide et efficient, en tenant les frais d’administration et connexes à un minimum. La procédure de dépôt et d’administration d’une proposition de consommateur est simplifiée par rapport à celle qui s’applique à l’égard d’une proposition en vertu de la section I. Ainsi, une première assemblée des créanciers n’est habituellement pas tenue (par. 66.15(1) de la LFI), et la proposition est réputée acceptée par les créanciers à l’expiration d’un délai de quarante cinq jours suivant le dépôt de la proposition (par. 66.18(1) de la LFI). Par ailleurs, le SAI n’est habituellement pas tenu de s’adresser à un tribunal pour faire approuver la proposition parce que celle ci est réputée approuvée quinze jours après qu’elle est réputée acceptée par les créanciers (par. 66.22(2) de la LFI).

Étant donné leur cadre simplifié et leur nombre élevé, les propositions de consommateur ne seront administrées avec efficience et efficacité que dans la mesure, en partie, où elles sont élaborées de façon simple et prévisible, sans qu’il ne soit nécessaire de procéder à une analyse au cas par cas ou à une consultation par les parties intéressées. Les créanciers importants se tournent souvent vers des fournisseurs de services tiers pour gérer leur participation à l’examen et à l’approbation de propositions de consommateur au moyen de cadres décisionnels normalisés. Or, ces cadres pourraient ne pas permettre la prise en considération éclairée d’éléments non conventionnels, comme les clauses d’escompte.

Les débiteurs qui le souhaitent disposent des outils dont ils ont besoin pour satisfaire de manière anticipée à une proposition de consommateur, de sorte que les clauses d’escompte et autres clauses non conventionnelles accroissent inutilement la complexité de l’administration des propositions de consommateur.

Implications pour les créanciers

Grâce à ses activités de surveillance, le surintendant sait que la présence de clauses d’escompte dans les propositions de consommateur contribue à une réduction des sommes globales remises aux créanciers, sans que les consommateurs n’en tirent les avantages correspondants. Dans le contexte d’approbations simplifiées et du recours par les créanciers à une prise de décisions normalisée, afin d’examiner de manière efficiente les propositions de consommateur, l’on ne peut dire avec certitude si les créanciers relèvent et prennent en considération ces clauses dans tous les cas, tout particulièrement dans ceux où le rapport du SAI à l’intention des créanciers n’aborde pas expressément le caractère juste et raisonnable de cet élément de la proposition.

Étant donné que les propositions de consommateur assorties de clauses d’escompte incitent les débiteurs insolvables à contracter une nouvelle dette, habituellement à des taux d’intérêt très élevés, cette pratique pourrait avoir pour effet de rehausser les risques de défaut futurs pour d’autres créanciers garantis et non garantis qui n’ont rien à voir avec la proposition. L’on ne peut dire non plus avec certitude si les agences d’évaluation du crédit recevraient des établissements qui octroient des prêts aux débiteurs, pour qu’ils effectuent des paiements uniques à rabais, des renseignements qui rendraient compte avec exactitude du risque de crédit et de la fiabilité des cotes de crédit des consommateurs qui se prévalent des clauses d’escompte.

Implications pour les débiteurs

La LFI a pour objectif fondamental de permettre au débiteur de se remettre sur pied. La Cour suprême du Canada a affirmé que « la réhabilitation aide le failli libéré à réintégrer sa place dans la vie économique et à devenir un membre productif de la société »Note de bas de page 1 . La LFI est conçue pour faciliter ce nouveau départ de nombreuses manièresNote de bas de page 2. Ainsi, la libération des dettes obtenue au titre de la LFI « permet à la personne insolvable de ‘repartir à zéro’, car elle est ‘libérée du fardeau de ses dettes antérieures’ »Note de bas de page 3. En outre, la LFI veille à ce que le débiteur consommateur obtienne des conseils financiers tout au long de la procédure afin de faciliter sa réhabilitation, notamment des conseils sur l’adoption de stratégies de gestion financière prudentes, comme l’utilisation du crédit à la consommation et le fonctionnement de sa proposition de consommateur. Par conséquent, les propositions de consommateur offrent aux débiteurs l’occasion de rembourser une partie de leurs dettes sur une période pouvant aller jusqu’à 60 mois, à un rythme qu’ils peuvent se permettre. Ce processus vise à permettre au débiteur de s’acquitter de ses dettes et d’adopter des pratiques financières viables.

L’inclusion d’une clause d’escompte dans une proposition de consommateur encourage le débiteur à contracter une nouvelle dette pour ainsi satisfaire aux exigences d’une proposition de consommateur. Les activités de surveillance ont révélé que le consommateur insolvable est encouragé à résoudre ses problèmes financiers existants et à tenter d’améliorer sa cote de solvabilité en contractant un nouvel emprunt. Bien qu’il verse un montant réduit à ses créanciers s’il a recours à une clause d’escompte, le consommateur devra normalement en fin de compte payer beaucoup plus au cours de la période de son prêt que la valeur nominale de sa proposition aux créanciers, sur des périodes qui peuvent dépasser de beaucoup 60 mois. Dans de tels cas, les frais, les pénalités et les intérêts imposés par le prêteur sont un obstacle au rétablissement de la santé financière du débiteur, en particulier comparativement au remboursement sans intérêt que prévoit une proposition de consommateur.

Compatibilité avec les obligations du syndic autorisé en insolvabilité sous le régime de la LFI

Sous le régime des dispositions de la LFI qui se rapportent à la proposition de consommateur, le SAI prépare et dépose un « Rapport de l’administrateur concernant la proposition de consommateur » (art. 66.14 de la LFI et formulaire 48) dans lequel il exprime son avis sur le caractère juste et raisonnable de la proposition de consommateur, tant du point de vue du débiteur consommateur que de celui des créanciers, et sur les chances de celui ci de pouvoir le mettre en œuvre (sous al. 66.14a)(ii) de la LFI).

Les clauses d’escompte conçues pour faciliter les prêts par des tiers afin d’acquitter une dette encouragent le maintien de pratiques financières non viables. Dans la mesure où l’inclusion d’une clause d’escompte incite un débiteur à contracter de nouveaux prêts coûteux, les propositions qui incluent des clauses d’escompte ne peuvent raisonnablement être considérées comme étant justes tant du point de vue du débiteur que de celui des créanciers.

Conformité avec le Code de déontologie des syndics autorisés en insolvabilité

Étant donné leurs répercussions, le surintendant estime que les clauses d’escompte incluses par les SAI dans les propositions de consommateur vont à l’encontre des normes professionnelles et éthiques rigoureuses auxquelles les SAI sont tenus. Les dispositions suivantes des Règles générales sur la faillite et l’insolvabilité sont particulièrement pertinentes :

Article 34 : Le syndic se conforme à des normes élevées de déontologie, lesquelles sont d’une importance primordiale pour le maintien de la confiance du public dans la mise en application de la Loi.

Article 39 : Le syndic est honnête et impartial et fournit, conformément aux exigences de la Loi, des renseignements exacts et complets aux parties intéressées au sujet de ses activités professionnelles.

Article 44 : Dans toute activité professionnelle, le syndic évite les influences, les intérêts et les relations qui compromettent son jugement professionnel ou qui, aux yeux d’une personne avisée, donnent à croire qu’ils ont un tel effet.

Article 49 : Le syndic ne verse, ni directement ni indirectement, de commission, de rémunération ou d’autre avantage à un tiers en vue d’exercer une activité professionnelle et il n’accepte, ni directement ni indirectement, le versement par un tiers d’une commission, d’une rémunération ou de tout autre avantage pour lui avoir confié un travail lié à une activité professionnelle.

Article 50 : Le syndic n’accepte, ne sollicite ni n’exerce d’activité qui tendrait à discréditer la profession de syndic ou à compromettre l’intégrité du régime de la faillite et de l’insolvabilité.

Position

Se fondant sur ses activités de surveillance et d’analyse, le surintendant est d’avis que l’inclusion de clauses d’escompte dans les propositions de consommateur pose un risque à l’intégrité de l’administration de la procédure d’insolvabilité et, en outre, que les clauses d’escompte mènent à des résultats qui, et pour les débiteurs et pour les créanciers, sont contraires à ce que l’on pourrait considérer comme étant juste et raisonnable compte tenu des objectifs et de l’objet de la LFI.

En conséquence, dans les cas où le surintendant relève une clause d’escompte (ou une disposition inappropriée similaire) dans une proposition faite pour le compte d’un consommateur, le séquestre officiel demandera au SAI de convoquer une assemblée des créanciers, dont lui même assurera la présidence. C’est dans le cadre de cette assemblée que le SAI aura l’occasion de donner plus de détails sur les vérifications faites en ce qui concerne l’état d’insolvabilité du débiteur et d’expliquer comment la proposition, assortie de la clause d’escompte, est juste, raisonnable et réalisable. L’assemblée permettra de faire en sorte que les créanciers soient informés et disposent des renseignements dont ils ont besoin pour pouvoir décider de façon éclairée s’ils acceptent ou rejettent la proposition de consommateur ou s’ils demandent que des changements y soient apportés. Suivant l’assemblée des créanciers et s’il n’est pas convaincu que la proposition de consommateur est juste et raisonnable, le séquestre officiel peut prendre d’autres mesures en vue de maintenir l’intégrité du système d’insolvabilité.

Veuillez adresser toute question et tout commentaire à ic.osbregulatoryaffairs-affairesreglementairesbsf.ic@canada.ca.

Date de modification :