Directions to Royal Bank of Canada—October 20, 2017

Conservatory Measures

What is a conservatory measure?

The Superintendent of Bankruptcy puts in place conservatory measures when a bankruptcy or insolvency estate needs protection. It might be in cases of Licensed Insolvency Trustee (LIT) malfeasance or if serious wrongdoing on the part of a LIT puts estate files at risk. Conservatory measures may also be put in place if a LIT becomes ill or dies without a valid succession agreement. Finally, conservatory measures may be put in place if a LIT, for whatever reason, has allowed the administration of his or her practice to become substandard.

CANADA

DIRECTION TO Royal Bank of Canada
3300 Highway 7, Suite 100, Concord, Ontario L4K 4M3
(October 20, 2017)

In the matter of:
Donna Marie Cairns and
Cooper & Company Ltd.


Directions for Conservatory Measures

(Section 14.03 of the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act)


Whereas the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act (the “Act”) provides the Superintendent of Bankruptcy (the “Superintendent”) with the general power to supervise the administration of all estates and matters to which the Act applies;

Whereas Donna Marie Cairns (the “Trustee”) is the holder of an individual licence as a licensed insolvency trustee;

Whereas Cooper & Company Ltd. is the holder of a corporate licence as a licensed insolvency trustee;

Whereas the Trustee is the sole licensed insolvency trustee practitioner of Cooper & Company Ltd.;

Whereas on October 20, 2017, Mr. Jack Steinman, Regional Director – Ontario, of the Office of the Superintendent of Bankruptcy (“OSB”), was made aware by a representative of an affiliate of the corporate firm, that the Trustee had made materially significant unauthorized withdrawals from estate trust funds, for which she is currently a fiduciary;

Whereas I believe on reasonable grounds that the estates require protection;

Whereas the Superintendent may, for the protection of an estate, exercise the powers set out in subsection 14.03(1) of the Act, in the circumstances referred to in subsection 14.03(2) of the Act;

Whereas the Superintendent has delegated to me, in accordance with subsection 14.01(2) of the Act, the powers of the Superintendent as specified at subsection 14.03(1) of the Act, in the circumstance referred to in subsection 14.03(2), a copy of which delegation is attached, along with copies of sections 14.01, 14.02 and 14.03 of the Act;

Whereas paragraph 14.03(2)(b) of the Act applies;

I, Jack Steinman, in my capacity as delegate for the Superintendent and pursuant to paragraphs 14.03(1)(b) and (c) of the Act, direct the Royal Bank of Canada, 3300 Highway 7, Suite 100, Concord, Ontario L4K 4M3 to:

  1. consider, upon receipt of the present directions, Ms. Stephanie Lee and Mr. Avi Koren, Senior Bankruptcy Analysts of the OSB, as the only authorized signatories as relates to any operations on the funds credited to the estates of bankruptcies and proposals administered by Donna Marie Cairns and Cooper & Company Ltd.;
  2. make no debit, payment or transfer of funds credited to, or which ought to have been credited to, the estates of bankruptcies and proposals administered by Donna Marie Cairns and Cooper & Company Ltd. without the countersignature of Ms. Stephanie Lee or Mr. Avi Koren;
  3. not pay out of these accounts: cheques, bills of exchange, bank drafts or other instruments, issued before the receipt of these directions which are presented for payment after the receipt of these directions without these cheques, bills of exchange, bank drafts or other instruments being signed by Ms. Stephanie Lee or Mr. Avi Koren;
  4. provide, as soon as possible, the list of trust bank accounts of Donna Marie Cairns and Cooper & Company Ltd. and submit all statement of accounts, accepted cheques and other documents or information having to do with the above-mentioned estate trust bank accounts, to Ms. Stephanie Lee or Mr. Avi Koren, Senior Bankruptcy Analysts of the OSB, at 151 Yonge Street, Toronto, Ontario M5C 2W7;

That these directions take effect immediately and will remain in effect until such time as I am satisfied that the estates no longer require protection;

That in accordance with subsection 14.03(3) of the Act, these directions bind the Royal Bank of Canada, who must comply with them;

That, pursuant to subsection 14.03(4) of the Act, a person who complies with this direction is not liable for any act done by that person only to comply with this direction.

Signed at the City of Toronto, Ontario, this 20th day of October 2017.


Jack Steinman
OSB Regional Director – Ontario

Date modified:

Instructions à l'intention de la Banque Royale du Canada — 20 octobre 2017

Mesures conservatoires

Qu'est-ce qu'une mesure conservatoire?

Le surintendant des faillites impose des mesures conservatoires lorsqu'il estime qu'un dossier de faillite ou d'insolvabilité doit être protégé, par exemple lorsqu'un méfait ou des malversations de la part d'un syndic autorisé en insolvabilité (SAI) peuvent mettre l'actif en péril. Des mesures conservatoires peuvent également être imposées lorsqu'un SAI tombe malade ou meurt sans avoir conclu d'entente de succession valide ou encore si, pour une raison quelconque, le travail d'un bureau de SAI ne respecte plus les normes établies par le BSF.

CANADA

INSTRUCTIONS À L’INTENTION DE la Banque Royale du Canada
3300, route 7, bureau 100, Concord (Ontario) L4K 4M3
(20 octobre 2017)

Dans l’affaire de :
Donna Marie Cairns et
Cooper & Company Ltd.


INSTRUCTIONS DE MESURES CONSERVATOIRES

(article 14.03 de la Loi sur la faillite et l’insolvabilité)


Considérant que la Loi sur la faillite et l’insolvabilité (la « Loi ») confère au surintendant des faillites (le « surintendant ») un pouvoir général de surveillance des actifs et des affaires régis par la Loi;

Considérant que Donna Marie Cairns (la « syndique ») est titulaire d’une licence pour particulier à titre de syndic autorisé en insolvabilité;

Considérant que Cooper & Company Ltd. est titulaire d’une licence pour personne morale à titre de syndic autorisé en insolvabilité;

Considérant que la syndique est la seule praticienne à titre de syndic autorisé en insolvabilité de Cooper & Company Ltd.;

Considérant que le 20 octobre 2017, M. Jack Steinman, directeur régional – Ontario, Bureau du surintendant des faillites (BSF), a appris d’un représentant d’une entreprise affiliée à la société que la syndique avait effectué des retraits non autorisés substantiellement importants des fonds en fiducie de l’actif, dont la syndique est actuellement la fiduciaire;

Considérant que j’ai des motifs raisonnables de croire que les actifs doivent être sauvegardés;

Considérant que le surintendant peut, pour assurer la sauvegarde d’un actif, exercer les pouvoirs décrits au paragraphe 14.03(1) de la Loi, dans les circonstances prévues au paragraphe 14.03(2) de la Loi;

Considérant que le surintendant m’a délégué, en vertu du paragraphe 14.01(2) de la Loi, les pouvoirs que lui confère le paragraphe 14.03(1) de la Loi, dans les circonstances prévues au paragraphe 14.03(2), et que copie de ladite délégation et des articles 14.01, 14.02 et 14.03 de la Loi est jointe aux présentes;

Considérant que l’alinéa 14.03(2)b) de la Loi s’applique;

Je soussigné, Jack Steinman, en ma qualité de délégué du surintendant et en vertu des alinéas 14.03(1)b) et c) de la Loi, donne instruction à la Banque Royale du Canada, 3300, route 7, bureau 100, Concord (Ontario) L4K 4M3 :

  1. de considérer, dès la réception des présentes instructions, Mme Stephanie Lee et M. Avi Koren, analystes principaux des faillites du BSF, comme étant les seuls signataires autorisés relativement aux opérations sur les fonds déposés au crédit des actifs de faillites et de propositions administrés par Donna Marie Cairns et Cooper & Company Ltd.;
  2. de ne faire aucun débit, paiement ou transfert sur les fonds déposés ou devant être au crédit des actifs de faillites et de propositions administrés par Donna Marie Cairns et Cooper & Company Ltd. sans avoir obtenu la signature de Mme Stephanie Lee ou de M. Avi Koren;
  3. de ne payer de ces comptes aucun chèque, effet de commerce, traite bancaire ou autre instrument de ce type, émis antérieurement à la réception des présentes mais qui seraient soumis pour paiement postérieurement à la réception des présentes, sans que lesdits chèques, effets de commerce, traites bancaires ou autres instruments ne soient signés par Mme Stephanie Lee ou M. Avi Koren;
  4. de fournir, dans les plus brefs délais, la liste des comptes bancaires en fiducie de Donna Marie Cairns et de Cooper & Company Ltd., et de soumettre tous les états de comptes bancaires, chèques acceptés et autres documents et renseignements se rapportant aux comptes bancaires d’actifs susmentionnés à Mme Stephanie Lee ou à M. Avi Koren, analystes principaux des faillites du BSF, au 151, rue Yonge, Toronto (Ontario) M5C 2W7;

Les présentes instructions entrent en vigueur immédiatement et le demeureront jusqu’à ce que j’estime que les actifs ne nécessitent plus de protection.

Conformément au paragraphe 14.03(3) de la Loi, les présentes instructions lient la Banque Royale du Canada, qui est tenue de s’y conformer.

En vertu du paragraphe 14.03(4) de la Loi, quiconque obtempère aux présentes instructions échappe à toute responsabilité pour les actes posés dans le seul but de s’y conformer.

Signé à Toronto (Ontario), le 20 octobre 2017.


Jack Steinman
Directeur régional du BSF – Ontario

Date de modification :